Arequipa & Altitude sickness.. Tengo saruche =(


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

hello everybody!!

Right now, I´m uploading 2 videos for the site but to be quite honest.. i feel wicked sick. I promise I´ll start to be better about updating this travel blog.. Lately, we have been editing videos and well having fun so there hasnt been much time to write. However, I love writing in my blog so I got to start getting in the swing of things again! Right now, we are in Arequipa suffering from Altitude Sickness. I got really sick on the bus there.. went up to go to the bathroom but half way down the aisle i passed out luckily on 2 empty seats for about 20 minutes, I THINK????? then today, chelsea passed out in Arequipa´s local market. not a grocery store market.. but a market where meat is hanging up by hooks and dead goat heads on display. chels sat down on a chair because she said she wasnt feeling good and then she started turning even more white than she even is! This random Peruvian guy looked at me and gave me the look as to is your friend ok? i told him no.. clearly. haha. he ended up pouring salt inside of her mouth.. moving her body back and forth.. and what a boom what a bang.. she felt better! It sure was scary.. and as this was all happening.. i started to feel like i was gunna pass out.. i was losing my hearing and became wicked weak. snapped out of it somehow and we took a taxi back to the hostel and slept for like 3 hours. im feeling better noww.. but i really need to go to the bathroom. The videos are all uploaded. I cant wait to write about my time spent in Ica and Haucachina Peru!!! Lima was wicked boring so not much to write about.. but Ica was so cool! Hope u check out the videos! Once chels and I get used to the altitude we will be going up another 1,000 feet to visit the worlds deepest canyon, the Colca Canyon. Its 2x as deep as the Grand Canyon! Should be awesome!!!!! Thats if we dont get even more sick from the altitude. haha. wish us luck!!!

Advertisement



3rd February 2009

HI CRAZY SHANNON
Hi Shannon, I AM A FRIEND OF YOUR DADS FROM SALEM. LOOKS LIKE YOU HAVING A ROUGH TIME RIGHT NOW. MY STOMACH TURNED WHEN YOU WROTE YOU PASSED OUT ON THE BUS AND GOT SICK, SLOW DOWN GIRL AND TAKE IT EASY, YOU HAVE YOU WHOLE LIFE FOR THIS...................KAT
21st November 2009

Arequipa &altitude
I just came back from Chivay and Colca Canyon, it was a very nice experience but...I got really sick and thought this was going to be the last trip in my life. I think everybody should visit these places, but people have to be physically prepared or rest for a day until they bodies get used to the climate. :) Happy to be alive, and now i'm on my way to Cusco

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb