Arriving in Lima!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
November 28th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone

After much harrassment about photos and stuff I have decided to update my blog. The fact is, there is no excuse for not writing other than the fact that I am having a wicked time and hate internet cafes.

After what seemed like the longest journey in the world we arrive in Lima on 11th November. I was absolutely wrecked and in pain with my wisdom teeth which was a shit start to a round the world trip but all is good now. Lima is a funny old place. I don´t think it deserves its reputation as being a complete dump, but it isn´t exactly very pretty. On the drive from the airport it was odd to see that pretty much all the houses have bars and there are even cars behind bars in drive ways. The place it would appear is full of thieves!

As I wasn´t drinking, I didn´t really get to experience the Lima nightlife. I managed to stay out till 130am on our second night before heading to bed and leaving Andrea and Matt to it. It is amazing how annoying drunk people can be! I must have heard the same story five or six times, but that is booze. The funniest moment was when Andrea asked the barman how many ¨soleros¨a drink was. Given that the local currency is ´soles´it was very funny to think of Andrea paying for a beer with a bunch of ice creams.

We met some crazy people in Lima, and one guy called Leo from Sweden had the most tattoos I have ever seen in my life. He had an entire woman painted on his back. Nuts.

After a night on the piss, it was time to head south down the coast to Paracas, but not before Matt fell over his own bag in his room, smacked his head and bruised his ankle. He got a rather fetching scar on his bald head that made him look like Gorbachev. Highly amusing. But then the piece de resistence - the idiot left his card in the cash machine after withdrawing money. Plonker. To be fair, you get the cash first, then your card over here so it is an easy mistake to make. But in all honesty, it would only happen to Bondy.

I cannot upload any more pictures in this shit cafe so
Lima, PeruLima, PeruLima, Peru

Shanty towns on the hill.
I will have to publish a load when I get back from the Inca Trail.

Laters.

xxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Lima, PeruLima, Peru
Lima, Peru

As close as Matt has come to pulling.
Iglesia de Santa DomingoIglesia de Santa Domingo
Iglesia de Santa Domingo

The main man St Martin de Porres lie here innit.
Lima - PeruLima - Peru
Lima - Peru

Leo´s amazing tattoo


30th November 2008

Travelling Bastards
Me and Steve are very jealous - you bastards! The lengths some people will go to to not have to buy Christmas presents! Keep an eye on that Bondy, esp on the steep inclines!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb