Bird shit island and the sex pest from Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Ballestas Islands
December 10th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok folks, since you are all harrassing me and calling me names I thought I would do an update on the blog. Well, let me see, what has happened? Oh yes, I left you with the Bond fiasco of drunken falls and lost cash cards.

After two days in Lima we headed down the coast to Paracas, but not until Bondy made an emergency call to his bank from Lima bus station. Arriving in Paracas was very odd, it is very remote and people only really go there to go to Islas Ballestas - or bird shit island as it is fondly dubbed. The reason for this is because of the ´guano´or shit that is apparently the best in the world. It is one of Peru´s greatest exports and brings in a ton of money. As odd as this sounds, it was quite cool actually, we got to see Humboldt penguins, they are funny fuckers and sea lions and seals which absolutely stink. I tried to take some pictures and managed to get some good ones of birds and stuff, but I am not really a bird fan.

With a couple of hours at sea bringing a chill to
Beautiful ladyBeautiful ladyBeautiful lady

What a poser
our bones, we decided to head off immediately to Ica down the coast where we got a taxi to a nearby oasis call Huacachina. It was here that the fun began. Basically, Huacachina is a party place and as we arrived on a Friday, it was obviously going to be messy.

The main reason for going here is to go sand boarding, which we decided to do on the Saturday. Now, bear in mind that I had not had a drink since arriving in Peru, and had to watch Laurel and Hardy booze it up, we decided that Friday night in Huacachina was party night. And what a party it was.

The real star of the show was a Peruvian guy called Alex. He was from Lima and is now known as the sex pèst from Lima. This is a 50 odd year old man who comes to Huacachina every weekend and has been doing so for 15 years. He tried to befriend gringos by saying he has a ton of drugs, but the fact is, the man is just an absolute pain and goes around trying to chat up girls. Unfortunately, I was a victim and rather dumbly fell for an old line. He constantly wore sunglasses and told me to´look at his eyes and trust him´. Unfortunately, he took this as an opportunity to grab my face and kiss me! Absolutely filthy. Needless to say, it all went downhill from there. I went nuts, Bondy decided to give him a talking to and the Irish and Yorkshire boys we had met threatened to knock him out. It was actually very amusing - now that I am looking back. Anyway, by the time we left Huacachina we had seen him in speedos and he was sporting a black eye. Clearly, someone decided to deck him.

After a night on the booze after a few weeks off, I felt like utter crap the next day. Then I remembered I had decided to sign up to go sand duning and sand boarding. The buggy was amazing if a little scary. The driver we had was an absolute nutter and at one point actually blessed himself! The dunes were so high it was unreal. At one point we were airborne and I actually felt like I might die. After being dragged over an abundance of dunes, we boarded down on of the biggest dunes there was. It was very cool. I didn´t bother to stand up as I knew I would be rubbish, so I went down on my front and ended up with a face of sand. Nice look.

After three days in Huacachina I must say I had my fill. There is nothing to do other than board and drink and I was getting bored. So, with our new found friends Hayley and Nick from New Zealand, we boarded the bus for Arequipa. More to come on that one!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Huacachina, PeruHuacachina, Peru
Huacachina, Peru

Andrea is the little dot in the sand
Nice assNice ass
Nice ass

Me boarding down the dune
Sand manSand man
Sand man

No amount of sand will hide this ugly mug
Pretty sunsetPretty sunset
Pretty sunset

Pretty lady
Death mobileDeath mobile
Death mobile

The buggy of justice
Party palaceParty palace
Party palace

Our cool hostel


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb