Día 6


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
July 6th 2007
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, last full day here in Lima, and I must say I am looking forward to Iquitos tomorrow! It is cold and damp here, very smoggy and crowded. Iquitos is in the rainforest region so I am now taking my malaria medication as a preventive.

Today was a really long day, with a lot of activities and running around. We boarded the bus at 8 to go to the United States
Embassy, where we got to listen to some speakers (sooo dry). We were not allowed to bring cameras with us so I do not have any pictures from the Embassy. 😞 It was interesting though to hear about the US-Peruvian relations and the educational issues taking place here in Perú.

After the visit to the Embassy, we went to the Fulbright Commission Office in Perú, the organization who has provided the grants for this trip. Tried to drink some coffee (waaaayyyy too strong for me) and had some little sandwiches and eclairs. Couldn´t eat too much since lunch was quickly approaching.

Let´s just talk about lunch for a minute, shall we? I have mentioned many times how amazing the food is here, and today´s Criolle-infused buffet at Jose Antonio was absolutely incredible. My new favorite food is Taku-Taku, a rice and bean combination dish that is served as a side dish to complement a main meal. Reminds me a little of the Gallopinto I loved so much in Nicaragua. Dessert for me conisisted of platanos- my other favorite Latin delicacy!

Lunch was followed by a tour of el Museo de Oro, which houses a collection of gold and other anicent artifacts dating back to the Incans. A taxi ride back to hotel to change and then dinner in Miraflores at a fabulous restaurant called Mangos that overlooks the Pacific Ocean.

Interesting experience in the bathroom at Mangos for me- as I was sitting in the stall I hear a voice say ¨are you okay?¨with a thick accent. I assumed this was the woman waiting in the bathroom for whomever was in the stall next to me. There was no response. Again, ¨are you okay?¨and no response. I suddenly feel a tug at my leg from under the stall next to me and see a hand reaching under the stall, and again I hear, ¨are you okay?¨ I quickly exited the stall to realize that the voice was coming from the woman in the stall next to me. I had no idea who this person was!! The woman waiting for her just stood there saying nothing! So I finally responded, ¨cómo?¨which is the polite way to say ¨what?¨ The voice from the stall yelled ¨noooooo!!¨ Puzzled, I left the bathroom and returned to my table, having absolutely no idea what had just happened. Weird huh?

We finished dinner and headed back to the hotel. Well, some of the group went to the Discoteca, which was the plan for most of us, but after last night and such a long day today I just wanted to come back to the hotel, enter my blog, and pack up for our departure tomorrow.

I do not know yet what the computer or internet situation will be in Iquitos, where we will be for the next week. I am hoping to have access so I can continue keeping all of you up to date on my trip! Thanks for reading, and buenas noches!

Alyssa




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th July 2007

journal
Well, well...you have missed your calling. Journalism is obviously something you have always excelled in. Pursue this love, and incorporate with your teaching skills. Wow! Sounds like a VERY full schedule and much more to come! Vaya con huegos! Yes, I know "go with eggs"

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb