Lima Again


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
April 18th 2009
Published: April 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

SereneSereneSerene

Looks like he is meditating towards the sun
I am in my last destination for this South American trip. Picked up luggage in Montevideo and here, and now have the task of throwing out all the useless items that I packed, you know, the emergency blanket, mosquito hat, multiple package of wetwipes, oh, and the heaviest, the organic cotton hostel sheet that think I used only once. Maybe I should keep that heavy item.....might come in handy someday. About half of my clothing must go if I am going to fit in the wool ponch and Argentinian matte cups.
Meanwhile, I had fun playing tourist in Lima yesterday. With Servas friends I went to private museum, local restaurants, the mall on the cliff, the pre-Inca ruins at night, and parks in Miraflores. We were lucky with the private museum, run by Japanese family. The president of foundation was there and he gave the tour in English. The beauty of the pottery and textiles surprised me. How did they keep their colours? Many artifacts in public museums are faded, or broken pieces put together, but these were vivid and intact.
If you want a tour of this museum, Museo Aamano, you must call ahead and book one of
RoughRoughRough

This culture had rough textured and simplistic ceramics and intricate textiles.
the regular tours during the day. Most are in Spanish but you can find the times of the English tours during the week. Take your passport to confirm your identity with security. The website is www.museoamano.com
Peru is a country of entreprenures. Everywhere you go, people want to sell you something. Today I was in a pharmacy, and standing in front of the cashier counter there was a lady trying to sell some drugs (maybe painkillers). When she started rapidly giving her pitch to me, I said my ususal "no habla espanol" and the guy in front of me broke out laughing. But it did stop the pitch. Then when I was trying to pay for tampons, the pharmacist showed me a package of headache tablets. I said "no thanks, I have my own". I wonder what he might have shown me if I was buying shampoo?


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DelicateDelicate
Delicate

There were dozens and dozens of drawers with samples of delicate textiles, everyone a unique pattern
AncientAncient
Ancient

They were over 800 years old
FeathersFeathers
Feathers

Poncho made of feathers, from jungle region
IntricateIntricate
Intricate

Very finely painted scenes
PeanutPeanut
Peanut

There were ceremics for food items.
ColourColour
Colour

Look at the vivid colours preserved over time
CollectionsCollections
Collections

The collections were from sites throughout Peru and beyond, from over 3000 years to recent post-Inca.
WarWar
War

Some items depicted war and death
IncaInca
Inca

Typical Inca style of pottery, quite simplistic
ImprintImprint
Imprint

With every culture the Inca conquered, they left the simplistic jar as their symbol
AccountingAccounting
Accounting

Each knot represented a number
PrezPrez
Prez

President of foundation and Roxanne, Servas day host
MuseumMuseum
Museum

The exhibits were amazing
Store DisplayStore Display
Store Display

Modern pottery for sale from jungle region
ModernModern
Modern

Modern textiles for sale
ArtesansArtesans
Artesans

In the expensive shop there were craftspeople in costume weaving for tourists
WowWow
Wow

Very impressive how delicate threads are put into patterns


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb