Back in Montevideo


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I AM in URUGUAYI AM in URUGUAYI AM in URUGUAY

silly.....gotta remind myself that I came here all alone....just to see what I can see...loved to say 'Uruguay' when teaching geography
The sun is shining brightly today but people on the streets are wearing jeans, coats and dark colours. I´m the only person bopping around in shorts and sandels. Luckily my tan gives me some kind of validation to be so colourful (I think). I am comfortable, so everybody else must be too warm. Last night when I arrived it was cold, about 18 Celcius. Earlier that day I was sweating in shorts and cotton shirt in Salta. Then going south to Uruguay the temperature dropped. I´ll be flying north to Lima tomorrow and it should be much warmer again. I´ll leave the Atlantic coast and go to the Pacific.
Later....I thought my tourist days were over, but once I got the taxi to friend´s house to pick up my luggage and get it to the hotel, I had time to walk through the old city. I discovered its charms (missed during last visit) and walked to the old pier. It was nice to be near the ocean again. Then I explored the parks and streets and visited the cathedral. The lighting inside was serene.
I had lunch at a street cafe and was joined by Al and Maggie from Edmonton. They were wrapping up a 7 week tour of Argentina and Uruguay. It was nice comparing sites that we visited and laughing about the adventures we got into. Yes, we appreciate every day that we are out of the ordinary.
My hotel is typical 1930 style. I like the chintz and carpets, and the rooms are spacious.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

postcard viewpostcard view
postcard view

Captial city
Old WallOld Wall
Old Wall

Last piece of history around square
cafescafes
cafes

I found a street with cafes in the 'cool' sunshine.
Inside CathedralInside Cathedral
Inside Cathedral

The 'old' part of Montevideo has a lot of class
Towards the seaTowards the sea
Towards the sea

It was good to smell the ocean....away from calm waters to the west
HarbourHarbour
Harbour

the working side of the harbour
PierPier
Pier

nice walk out to water, lots of local fishermen catching day's lunch
islandisland
island

Looking out towards famous island and the mount. Name Montevideo might originate from first sailor who said 'Mont a video' Hill I see!
Al and MaggieAl and Maggie
Al and Maggie

Westerners on vacation


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb