Miraflores - Day 2


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
January 2nd 2009
Published: January 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I head out looking for a museum and get lost. So much for my great sense of direction. Didn't I have this problem in New York? I see this huge site full of sand and walk around it. Luckily there is a tourist information booth there. I walk up and try my very best (really bad) Spanish on the guy standing behind the counter. I tell him in Spanish that I can't speak Spanish and he thinks I'm telling him he doesn't speak Spanish. God! I should have practiced more before I left. He tells me that he can speak English and I feel relieved. He starts speaking to me in English but then suddenly switches back to Spanish. WTF? I thought he was going to talk to me in English. Jesus Christ! After trying to figure out what he is trying to say, I get straightened out and I'm on my way back to the beach. It turns out, the big mound of sand was the museum I was looking for, however, it's a pottery museum and takes about 45 minutes to tour. I'm thinking, no thanks. That's not for me.

At the beach I walk around the cliff side like I did the night before, but this time instead of stopping at the restaurant and heading back, I keep going. I want to explore it all the way around to the other suburb (Barranco). I get to the point where I can't find myself on the Miraflores map anymore. When I see a highway running past me, I decide to head back. I think I went far enough, don't you? Besides, it's time for a siesta as it's 28 C.

I wake up from my siesta 30 minutes later and meet Simon and James (two more Aussies; Med students). We say goodbye to Annie as she is heading off to Europe to meet up with her boyfriend. I head out with the Aussies. What is it with me and Aussies? Or better yet, where the hell did all these Aussies come from?

We head down to the beach to take pictures, and then back up to the main road to eat. We stop at a Japanese restaurant which Jane and Annie ate at earlier in the day. The food is very good although the Tempura wasn't what I expected. Oh well, you can't expect everything to be the same 😊. We head back to the hostel after dinner as all the Aussies have early flights in the morning. Jane is going home and the Simon and James are off to Cusco to do the Inca Trail. I hang out at the hostel and just chat with the other travelers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb