A New Beginning


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
January 1st 2009
Published: January 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrive at my hostel (Inka Lodge) and check-in. I have the whole dorm room to myself. This is the first time I have ever had the entire dorm to myself. It's a little strange, but it's actually a good thing because I can try all the other beds on the other nights 😊.

I take a shower and get settled in. I meet Gail (retiree from Colorado), Annie and Liz (two Aussies), and Ana (Portuguese). We all head out to the beach and split up into two groups when we get there. Gail and Ana go for a walk down to the beach. Annie, Liz and I take the scenic route by the cliff top. We see people paragliding and ask how much. It cost $45 USD for 15 minutes. That doesn't sound like a deal plus you don't really go very far. We decide not to do it and continue walking along the cliff side. We have an amazing view of the ocean and a beautiful sunset. Sure enough, I didn't bring my camera along. Note to self: take camera every with you.

We head along the cliff tops to a restaurant (Mangos) that is built right into the cliff side. It's actually really amazing to see. In the restaurant, you get an amazing view of cliffs, sunset, and the ocean. The cocktails and seafood are great as well. Annie and Liz have this zest for trying food that I have never seen before. It's very contagious and intoxicating.

The sun is down and we wander the streets of Miraflores (suburb of Lima). I can't get my barrings as I didn't take a look at the map before I left. I have no idea where we are and need to rely on the girls. I hope they know where they are going. If we get lost as least I can blame them 😱.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb