Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Miraflores
May 20th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There isn´t a whole lot to say about Lima from my experience I´m afraid.....not because it has nothing to offer but I was still on a go-slow after the trekking in Cusco & couldn´t bring myself to traipse around in search of the billion museums that are dotted about the city. After listening to the woes of other travellers I decided to fly there as apposed to the 25 or so hours it can take by bus.....the long bus-trips I can handle but living on my nerves for that length of time isn´t fun......all this finger-printing & smiling for photos before heading off on a roadtrip doesn´t inspire confidence in the least. However a local man did tell me that the reason wasn´t so much to do with road- traffic- accidents but rather to help prevent hijackings & robberies on-board the bus in the middle of the night while the passengers are sleeping. Either way, I opted for increasing carbon emissions & flew. An hour. Was worth it!!

I think Lima must have the most annoying taxi drivers I´ve come across.....all concentrated at the airport.....everyone of them chasing you practically to go in their taxi......even though you´ve just told the man standing beside him that you´re not interested. Was near losing the head!! Lima is a massive city....not a place that you can easily navigate on foot because of sheer size & from the perspective of safety....it wouldn´t be advised. The trick is to carry nothing on you.....that way you minimize the chances of a mugging.

I stayed out in a more up-market area called Miraflores where a lot of tourists stay. 2 nights just to gear myself up for the next trek. Miraflores is right beside the sea with good surf if you´re looking for it but the water is pretty cold & the currents would challenge the best of swimmers so it was never on my agenda. The area is pretty with loads of cafes & restaurants though to while away the day. So after 2 nights I caught an early morning bus up north to Huaraz.....away from the mist that shadows the city of Lima to crystalline blue skies & big jagged mountains.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb