Santa Cruz


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Huaraz is a city nestled in the Andes mountains from where a lot of travellers set out on various types of treks, from 3 to 10 days or more....depending on time & adventure! For me this was to be my last trek......the Santa Cruz trek over 4 days...although in retrospect I probably would have done it in 3 days because it isn't very hard...there is only one pass to cross & after that it is a walk in the park!!

What I have found in Peru more than any other country is that the people are much more opportunistic & will always try to make a few extra nuevos soles out of your custom.....in other words they are always trying to rip you off which at times, isn't a nice feeling. I met one such man when I came to book my trip. Nonetheless I booked it with him. And whilst I was of the impression that I'd be in a certain group I ended up in a tour group where I was the only English- speaking tourist.....the other 14 were from an non-English speaking country & whilst they were friendly enough individually, it wasn't ideal!! I was pretty pissed off....so over the 4 days I came to be good friends with the 2 porters who looked after the horses. And whilst the rest of the group spoke amongst themselves, we were huddled in the corner playing cards.....so it wasn't all bad.

Like other treks the nights were bitter. Sleep impossible when you spend the whole night shivering....unfortunately you just don't get used to the cold. The scenery was beautiful....snowcapped mountains & shimering lakes along the way. If ever I get a chance I'll put a photo or 2 up. Having talked to other people along the way the poor transport to the national park seems to be a common experience. The bus there takes about 4hours or so but all the companies cram the groups into Hiace vans that have the capacity for 17 people but fill them with maybe 20 people....it may only be an extra 3 people but at full-capacity it was already crammed. Then sit in the same bent-up position with elbows & knees rammed into the person beside you for hours. It isn't one of the most comfortable rides you'll have.

It seems that I've more complaints than positive things to say about the whole experience but I think it is just because I've done so many treks & I expected a similar standard.....nonetheless the trek was beautiful & I can't say better than that.

When I arrived in Huaraz on the Friday I had a day to fill before I went trekking. Out of guilt I went to the Chavin Ruins which are a gruelling 4 hour trip away. I know 4 hours isn't long but I'd spent about 8-9hours getting there the day before....and as I said I was feeling guilty. Mainly because I was in Peru & as yet hadn't really visited a lot of ruins......the land of the Incas & ruins galore!! I had only visited Machu Picchu & Isla del Sol so far. SO I went....& never regretted something so much....oh why didn't I go with my gut instinct.....we had an overzealous tour-guide that persisted in shouting for the duration of the tour......& ruins that I suppose were nice but because I don't have a particular interest in them......I would have been as happy looking at old houses in Conemara as been there!! Ignorance is bliss!!

After the trek I didn't hang around too long. That night I got the overnight bus to Trujillo. Not before, of course, indulging in the local ice-cream & popcorn....the half-liter mark was met & enjoyed thoroughly...the selection of chocolate is good & exactly what was needed after the few days in the wilderness.

Trujillo was next-stop & only a pass-through city. I arrived in the early hours of the morning but had to wait til that night to catch an onward bus to Mancora....a beach town in Peru. SO I spent the day roaming the streets & markets....picking up shakes along the way...which was probably where I picked up my most recent infection & no......I won't ever learn!! Thankfully there was an English-speaking film showing in the cinema so I didn't have to wander too long in the dark. Tucked up for a few hours sleep & the bus headed off towards Mancora....the beach & hopefully a bit of sun!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb