Everything Peruvian is new again


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lambayeque
January 17th 2008
Published: January 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

street lightsstreet lightsstreet lights

just some cars driving by at night, taken from on top of my building.
Over the weekend I was walking around town and some men invited me over to sit with them. “Hey gringo” was the delivery they used, very friendly of course, and I sat down. They were drinking a fabulous looking drink made of ice called a raspardilla, Peruvian snow cone. The man making the snow cones had a massive block of ice, maybe ten pounds, that he shaved the pieces off of right in front of me, then put it into a glass and drowned with a mysterious red syrup. It was one of the most beautiful tastes I had ever tasted. All I could manage to find out about the flavor is that it was a fresh local fruit called tamarindo. I drank the drink and went home. I spent the rest of the day very near to the bathroom. I found out from the family I live with that tamarindo is a natural laxative that locals use to get things moving. It was worth it though, that thing tasted really good.

I have also found out that I am violently allergic to Llama wool and red velvet couches. Who knew?

I met two surfers yesterday who were looking for a hotel. They were my age, the guy was from Switzerland and the girl was French Peruvian and they had spent the past year in their red Volkswagen van, driving around Peru, visiting museums and surfing the local breaks of Peru. Today they would be heading just north of here about an hour and then to Ecuador for some more tropical waves. I think I would rather have gone with them.

Advertisement



17th January 2008

red velvet couches huh? interesting that those are even still around.
18th January 2008

hey thats how we roll here
20th January 2008

Taking food from strangers
Now, Travis, didn't your mother tell you not to take food from strangers? I can't believe you're allergic to Llama wool, I actually thought of that if you brought a shawl back. Maybe, you should srap that idea. I'm allergic to all kinds of animals. Are you staying with Wilma's mom? Are you going to be there a while? When does Wilma and her family come home? Has it been a help having her husband there?
21st January 2008

Sandra, I dont know about other wools, alpaca and vicuna are in the llama family but have much softer wool..I dont know about allergies to them...I was pretty surprised that I was alergic...but maybe it was the dust. Im still with Wilmas mom and they should be home by the time you read this. It did help to have robert here...now it gets interesting....good luck with the book also.
23rd January 2008

Travis, Have been reading your past blogs. It's good to know that youare alive and well. Will pray for more of the same. Sounds like things have been interesting. Maybe we should send some black hair dye and tan in a bottle so you'll be less of a target. Your pictures are great. Nothing lost in translation there. It's been the same ol' same ol' here, just waiting for it to warm up a little. Wish I had some good advice for you. Guess you'll have to muddle along on your own. Be aware and take care.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.8kb