...


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lambayeque
January 28th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

FloodedFloodedFlooded

I dont know why the street is flooded...its just one of those things.
Yesterday I went into the moutains for the first time. One of my students (Betty) has family there in a town called Chongoyape, just into the foothills on the western slope of the Andes. About ten minutes outside of the city things started to change. Bicycle carts turned into people carts then into donkey/cow carts. When we got to Chongoyape the grandpa quickly showed me his best donkey and his garden and fruit trees...it was pretty cool.

One of Betty´s uncles took us around to all the sights in and near town. We saw ancient petroglyphs, a massive lake, a vineyard and giant cacti and all sorts of interesting people. Most of the areas outside of town here appear to be third world, no electricity, bathing in the river and a cow in every yard. After seeing the sights we went back to the house for lunch. Im not sure what meat I ate but Im pretty sure it had been killed that day behind the house. (There was an assortment of animals, geese, rabbits, guinea pigs). I asked Betty if they would all be dinner one day...she said yes. Oh, and Ive lost 12 pounds in counting due to
On the otherside.On the otherside.On the otherside.

This is a donkey in Chongoyape eating corn stalks.
digestive misfunctions...I think I made that word up.

I did meet a guy from the U.S. in Chongoyape who was working for the peace core (Matt). We were talking under some mango trees and this guy rides up on a bicycle and stops about 10 feet away from us and stays there and appears to fall asleep. He wakes up a few minutes later and walks past with his bike. He watches the man pass then looks at me, shakes his head and says "Peruvians are werid man." Yes they are, but its great.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

FallsFalls
Falls

Man made water falls built by germans about 40 years ago.
rocksrocks
rocks

This guy looks pretty happy...I dont know how old they are, Ive olny learned enough spanish to not die (part joking), nevermind asking questions.


28th January 2008

Peruvians sound amazing. Fish heads and guinea pigs? Great Pictures!
28th January 2008

weight
Hey man, So you've lost 12 pounds huh. If you need me too I will send down some candy bars to boost weight gain. HAHAHAHAHA!!
31st January 2008

" WE ARE NOT WERID MAN"- THERE IS DIFERENT CULTURES AROUND THE WORLD
Hi Travis: I think you are enjoying your stay in Peru ( Lambayeque area) , I hope the things make more sense for you now, today for fisrt time I read you blog the pictures and comments that you and yours friends share, I would like to tell you that you can take more advantages of the beautifulness of the country area , maybe a beautiful picture or comment of the museums, ruins, beaches or the friendly people that you meet , people who offered you friendship , your pictures maybe good , but in some of them only shows bad things that every country has, I think donkeys you can find in pretty much every country in the world, the pictures and comments about a place looks like a third world country looks like derrogatory remarks, sound like you never saw a cow in a yard , chickens, ginea pig or donkey before , I don't think that is the case, everything is part of the country culture the same as well US has their own cultural background, I recomended to you apreciate the beautiful things that other travelers admire from Peru. Will be beautiful share those Cultural things too. Good luck in your stay and trip, trip that supouse to be a Wonderful Cultural Experience. Best regards Wilma

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb