Friends, Revenge and Los Simpsons


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lambayeque
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

futbolfutbolfutbol

The local futbol club team.
There aren’t enough hours in the day to talk with everyone who stopped me or yelled “gringo” on the street. I sat down to watch some kids play soccer today. As soon as they saw me they ambushed me, throwing what I assume were questions at me, as fast as racecars. I gathered that they were all family, brothers, sisters, cousins and when I looked up the adults were standing in the door waving, inviting me in. It must be a custom here, that when your invited into somebody’s home they automatically give you food and drink, in this case, fried duck and beer. A great, friendly family, the parents of the kids outside.

Yesterday I had what I call “The revenge of the Incas”…violent diarrhea. I stayed pretty close to the house most of the day then had to go on a search for the Peruvian equivalent of Pepto-Bismol, which of course I couldn’t say in Spanish so I had to act out my symptoms to the clerks, which drew confusion and smiles alike. I finally found something at the fourth store I visited. I did have to stop in at a street side café and use the bathroom,
motomotomoto

mototaxi at night.
which had no seat. If your ever in South America, remember to check for toilet paper before you do your business, it can save you some embarrassment.

The Simpsons come on Peruvian TV about six times a day. However its incredibly frustrating because its dubbed in Spanish. But does that stop the laughs, no senor.


Advertisement



7th January 2008

oh the horror!
so glad you made it safe, but do we need to send you a care package with pepto? what is your address there by the way! love the blog, can't wait to read of your adventures
8th January 2008

Well...it depends on what is in the care package..actually the peruvian equivilant works pretty good, send some spanish my direction..it is in great need here... Residencial El Carmen Block F Apto 102 Lambayeque, Lambayeque Peru 74
8th January 2008

No no no no...it is a public school and actually my students are my age. I have two classes about 15 people each. They are all native here. One class speaks pretty good english...the other I get some pretty blank stares and I do alot of acting. There are about 30 teachers, I am the youngest, know the least spanish and have the least amount of experience teaching amoung them. Did you read my posts from the first few days????
9th January 2008

yes, yes i did
yeah, i read them but only after i read this one....have you bookmarked now. ;) i'll send you a "Spanish for Dummies" ! j/k let me know what you need and when you need it, we will be happy to send anything your way. love the photos btw! did you get a flickr account?
17th January 2008

well...
The Peruvians pulled out all the stops in welcoming you didn't they. Fried duck and beer is interesting. If you haven't tried mate de coca tea, you need to. Its a natural anti-diarretic that my peruvian professor let me try. Just make sure they hold the cocaine.
17th January 2008

right right right, no coca tea yet, i have been warned not to drink it. Knowing me it would cause my esophegous to collapse and sufficate and die.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb