Sandboarding and the Nazca Lines


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Huacachina
July 18th 2008
Published: July 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Not bad for the first timeNot bad for the first timeNot bad for the first time

Followed by a rather interesting crash
After our journey concluded with Roberto, We had a day and a half in Huacachina. This is a place that looks exactly like the dunes of Arizona, mixed in with a Middle Eastern Oasis and a younger backpacking crowd.

I decided to take a shot and got myself a lesson in sandboarding. Let me say this now, IT IS WAY HARDER THAN IT LOOKS! I personally have never snowboarded or skied, so this was entirely a new experience. The first clue I should have had was the fact that I was gasping for breath walking up the hill in the ski boots, which felt like they weighed 40 pounds each and were happy to sink into the shifting sand. Second, the board gets waxed every run, you know why... to make it crazy fast! Needless to say, I am not the surfer my brother is and spent a lot of time trying to get back up only to find myself sprawled out in the sand again! Maybe it should have been called butt boarding as that is what I spent the majority of the time doing! Actually all in all, it was a riot and I could hardly stop laughing.
Oasis in the desertOasis in the desertOasis in the desert

Kinda like arabian knights without the tents....and a hippie crowd
I'd do it again in a heartbeat but a lift would have been nice!

The morning of my last day, I got up super early to go fly the Nazca Lines. It was a two hour drive from our hotel. Eric elected to stay at the hotel and take care of some unfinished things, like laundry, so I went by myself. I was in a four seater plane and they bank pretty hard so you can see the lines on both sides. The upside is that there was no turbulence. The downside is that it is expensive and really is so static, that the pictures in the books do it justice. I think I could have skipped it, especially since it was so expensive. It is one of those things to say you did but in the end, it could not compare to seeing real lines on the ground with Roberto or anything we saw the four days prior.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My charriot for the Nasca linesMy charriot for the Nasca lines
My charriot for the Nasca lines

It's a good thing I had a light breakfast
The astronaut of Nasca?The astronaut of Nasca?
The astronaut of Nasca?

That is what they call him, but they are not quite sure what he is


22nd July 2008

I love the photos
I just went through all the blogs and see photos---don't know if they were there before--or you added them, but I love them!!! You look like your having a blast and you guys have such great smiles!! SO happy for you guys! Tanya
8th August 2008

where to now?
So where are you guys now? We miss all the great info you've been sharing. Hopefully we'll hear from you soon!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb