Day 2 Inca Trail


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Inca Trail
January 22nd 2006
Published: January 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 Inca TrailDay 2 Inca TrailDay 2 Inca Trail

Me at the start of Day 2, with a signpost showing the climb ahead!
Today is alledgedly the hardest day of the Inca Trail. It bloody well is too!!!

The rain today was heavy, which was probably good as it made it a bit cooler. The goal was to climb to Dead Womans´ Pass, which is at 4,900 meters above sea level, and a climb for us today of around 1,300 meters. All uphill!!!

The begining for me felt really tough. My legs seemed to turn to concrete, walking up the many steps of the trail. the rain was relentless, so got pretty wet too. When the halfway point came I was suprised, and then seemed to get my second wind. I could breath fine, it was just my ten tonne legs!! After a small break though, I re-charged and blitzed my way up that mountain. I pretty much walked alone, I thought it would be better that way, and the sense of achievement when I reached the top of the mountain was great. The view also at 4,900 meters above sea level was impressive, and it was good to see everyone else coming up the hill I had already conquered!!! It was also freezing cold at that height, not nice after a
Day 2 Inca TrailDay 2 Inca TrailDay 2 Inca Trail

I made it!!! Dead Womans Pass. 4,900 meters above sea level. An amazing view.
grueling walk. Again the views along the way are unreal, photos or words cant really describe them.

After the summit of the top, it was all downhill all the way to our campsite in the valley. I was the 5th person to reach camp, at 10.45am. We left our last base at 8am, not bad going!!!!

The rest of the day was about getting dry, we sat around playing cards, and as usual, the super human porters who had taken all that equipmet up 1,200 meters and back down, cooked fabulous meals.

The rain cleared at night, and bought out one of the greatest sights I have ever seen. The sky was clear, and I swear you could see every star that existed in the Universe, it was spectacular, and appreciated by everyone. It was also very cold that night, but luckily my Alpaca Poncho kept me warm in the tent, and had a good nights sleep.

What a day, and tomorrow Day 3 is here already.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Day 2 Inca TrailDay 2 Inca Trail
Day 2 Inca Trail

Our camp. The big tent is where we ate, and played cards. And the Porters.


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb