My first sunburn...ouch!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Salsa outfitSalsa outfitSalsa outfit

Christal, do you like it?
HOla!

WEll, life has continued to be busy and exhausting.

Friday night at 10 pm I was on my way to Puno, where you get to Lake Titicaca. BY 5 am I was in Puno, long bus ride althought I managed a bit of sleep. The bus back to Cusco was cancelled so we only had a one way ticket but I simly didn´t care at that point because I just wanted to get to Puno!

Chris and I walked around the town for a while and seen everything there was to see before the restaurants started to open. We were hungry and needed a bus ticket home so by 7 we had got all those details worked out. we got our boat tickets and we were off on Lake Titicaca. After a couple hours on the boat we got to Uros, the islands where the people live in houses, etc. made of reeds. It was really unique and cool. I then got to take a reed boat ride to the other island where we were off for our destination island of the night. We got host families and stayed the night in whatever lodging they provided. As
Snacks!Snacks!Snacks!

All for $10 Canadian, I have made it my goal to try every kind of Crush drink they have here...totally different!
Chris has already been to the islands, he knew what to expect and told me a bit about what he wanted to show me, etc. I hiked for what seemed forever and realized that I haven´t worked so hard at hiking in a long long time, if ever. The steps were intense, sometimes higher than my knee and often rocks.

After a while I finally arrived at the top, on the way down I got to have some amazing donuts from a local lady and that was my highlight of the island. We seem to eat non stop rice and potatoes so donuts were great for a change!

There are so many stories I would love to share but I have more volunteering this afternoon, got the approval to work with the older kids at my orphanage and although everyone here is late for everything, I want to attempt at being early on my ¨first¨day. Hugs, will update again soon!

Chloe


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Eating the reeds...Eating the reeds...
Eating the reeds...

Lake Titicaca ' Uros!


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb