It´s the weekend already!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
January 11th 2008
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HOla,

Well, of course there are new stories as everyday is something new here. It is now officially my weekend, I worked at the orphanage until just past 2 this afternoon, usually I do 8 ' 12 so today was a bit longer, it didn´t seem as long today though. I bought some beads and thread so we made bracelets, necklaces, etc. The girls got their hair done and put up in Christál´s hair things she donated for my trip, they loved that.

The children love bubbles and everyday want to have more, so far I have been unable to locate them in any of the markets...

The Christian orphanage is called Libertad, there are 2 Christian pastors who run the program for the kids and then a few other staff. The kids have read their bible to me a few times and I really wished I had brought my English and Spanish one I had planned but left at home... It is really cool that I ended up at this orphanage though because I got a program that provides the kids with spiritual guidance as well as their other needs. THe children are very smart and very tidy.

The people here seem to clean all the time, whether it is the floors, windows, walls or something else, one person always has a broom or mop in their hand! I often wonder how anything can get dirty fast enough for them to clean anything but somehow it must.

I got in touch with one of the volunteer agents yesterday and got approval to work with the older children at the orphanage from 4 -5 each day. They seem to get pushed away from hanging around me and I know they are interested in doing some of the activities I have brought, rummy, crafts, etc. On Tuesday I get to take them to the park which is great because I don´t think they get out much, literally. They don´t have any grass in their play area, it´s all chopped up cement, wouldn´t want anybody to fall on that! Yikes, I am sure the kids will be stoked to have some time away from their usual scenery!


Yesterday Chris and I went to saqsawaman which is one of the famous places of the inca people. It is apparently the first town around Cusco. All of the rocks were hauled to the mountain and then carved to fit perfectly together. Of course, the pictures do not even come close to how awesome the stuff to see is but I thought I´d show you a bit anyhow. Right near saqsawaman is the big statute of Jesus Christ, at night there are lights that make it bright and you can see it very well from where we stay. It was really cool to see that.

Time is just flying, I can hardly believe I only have 1 week left! Anyhow, Chris and I are off to Lake Titicaca for the weekend so check out my blog Monday or Tuesday because there are going to be some incredible pics!

Thanks for catching up, hope I remembered to say everything I wanted to!

Hugs

Chloe




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Betsa and her new headbandBetsa and her new headband
Betsa and her new headband

Thanks Christal, I love it and gave Chloe a hug and kiss to give you....
Another hairpiece modelAnother hairpiece model
Another hairpiece model

She was very excited about her new hair things too, got another hug for Christal!


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb