Arequipa


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
April 18th 2009
Published: May 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After checking in in a little hotel, Mario and I went for a walk in town, even though I had no sleep at all as I was afraid that my new camera would get stolen again. We started visiting La Plaza de Armas and its enormous cathedral, as well as many other exquisite colonial churches, convents and mansions built around the city. Arequipa is also called the “white city” for its distinctive volcanic stone-work all around. In the afternoon we took a disappointing (for me) city tour. They took us to a few places, the best one being the Mirador de Carmen Alto, a lookout where we enjoyed the views of the Misti Volcano (5822m) and the Chachani (6075m) whch were amazing. I then met up with my friend Jose who I had met during my travels in Cambodia and Thailand, and catch up with him with a nice fruit juice. For dinner Mario and I met with with Jose again in a restaurant where they had traditional Peruvian music and dances.
For breakfast I tried the typical Arequipeno breakfast of “carne en adobo” with “pan de 3 esquinas” and it was absolutely delicious that I even asked for extra bread.
how many types of potatoes they havehow many types of potatoes they havehow many types of potatoes they have

cuantos tipos de patata tienen

Mario and I walked around town doing our last shoppings before going to the bus station to get our buses, him to La Paz and me to Nazca. It was weird when getting into the bus all passengers were (me included) being filmed first, I assume for security reasons. All the companies where doing the same as well, weird but good.


En cuanto llegamos a Arequipa y chequeamos en un hotel Mario y yo nos fuimso a dar un paseo por la ciudad, y eso que yo no habia dormido mucho por miedo a que me robaran la camara de nuevo. Empezamos nuestra visita en la Plaza de Armas con su enorme catedra, asi como otras exquisitas iglesias coloniales, conventos y mansiones por toda la ciudad. A Arequipa tambien la llaman la ciudad blanca por su distintivo trabajo en piedra volcanica por toda la ciudad. Por la tarde tomamos un tour (que la verdad no me gusto mucho). Nos llevaron a varios sitios, el mejor de ellos siendo el Mirador de Carmen Alto, desde donde disfrutamos de unas vistas preciosas del Volcan Misti (5822m) y del Chachani (6075). Al acabar el tour me encontre con mi amigo Jose a quien habia conocido en mis viajes por Cambodia y Tailandia, y nos fuimos a tomar un jugo (como ellos llaman a los zumos) de frutas mientras charlabamos de nuestras vidas en los ultimos meses. Para cenar Mario y yo nos encontramos con Jose de nuevo en un restaurante donde tocaban musica tradicional Peruviana y donde tambien hicieron bailes regionales.
Para desayunar probe el tipico desayuno Arequipeno de carne en adobo con pan de 3 esquinas y estaba buenisisismo, tanto que tuve que pedir extra de pan para comer mas salsa. Mario y yo andamos por la ciudad haciendo las ultimas compras antes de ir a la estacion de autobuses a cojer nuestros respectivos colectivos, yo a Nazca y el a la Paz. Que cosa mas rara hacen aqui al subirse uno al autobus, te filman con una videocamara, supongo que por motivos de seguridad, pero aun asi es raro, aunque bueno que lo hagan.



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

isn't it beautifulisn't it beautiful
isn't it beautiful

a que es precioso o preciosa?


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb