Hi!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
June 26th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow its been a long time, my apologise!

Well what has happened in the past 10 days? Thats a good question...time kinda flys here!

Well on saturday the 21st we took the kids to the park to try and give the tias some spaca after Marisellas death. Not all of the kids came because a lot of them have been really sick and in hospital because of the flu. But it was a good day we picked them up at about 11 and brought them back at 5ish. Me and another volunteer stayed up until 2 in the morning here cooking potatoes and rice and pasta and we went to one of the markets as well in the morning to get fruit and bread.

I'm attaching some pictures from that day and also from the weekend before that when we went to toro muerto.

Well I'm quiet sick at the moment with a chest infection and a slight case of food poisoning. Not really allowed at the orphanage when i'm sick incase I make the kids sick or they make me sicker. But on antibiotics so hopefully I'll be back in action-ish tomorrow and can go back. I also finally started spanish lessons this week but as I've been ill I havent been to many.

Apologies for the terrible typing Peruvian keyboards are a bit strange!!!!

A friend from Ireland, Nicky, is coming down from Lima on saturday to visit so i'm very excited about that. We'll be going to see colca canyon for a day and then to see Santa Catalina, a very beautiful monestry here. Hopefully to a few other things as well but I'll have to wait and see.
4 of us are going to Puno on the 4th of July (all of a sudden thats next week!) and then to Cuzco to see machu Pichu. I'll be back from that on the 9th I think and then I'll have one more week of volunteering and spanish lessons and then I'm leaving peru on thursday, the 17th I believe and heading to Boston for a few days.

Ok well thats all for now, I wont leave it so long this time, hopefully this weekend when nicky leaves.

Much love
Madeleine


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



3rd July 2008

Great to get youe news
I have really enjoyed your comments and pics. What a fabulous experience for you. We live in a very small corner of the woods by comparison. Thanks for the updates and enjoy the rest of your trip. Lov Catrina, Tom Kate and the boys

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb