I´ve arrived!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
June 8th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Volcano!Volcano!Volcano!

Mount Misti
Hola!
Well I´m finally here after the most ridiculous amount of travel. But it was definitly worth it. Its really beautiful here. There are snow capped volcanos everywhere. It´s really breath taking. It´s a lot safer then I expected. I´m almost always with someone and we are looking out for each other. There are about 10 other volunteers and we spend a lot of time together which is nice. I felt at home instantly after meeting Jay the organisation co-ordinator. She is fantastic and he husband is great too.
We have plans for all of the evenings this week. Going to go rafting on saturday and to a park that has a dinosaur foot print in it.
I was worried about the Peruvian people as well but everyone so far seems very nice. Even when they speak to me and I look at them like they have two heads they just kind of laugh! It´s still a little daunting but I think I´ll settle in quickly enough.
I´ll be starting my volunteering on Tuesday. And I´ll be setting up spanish lessons tomorrow. It will definitly make things easier.
I´m attaching 3 photos, one of one of the bigger volcanos called Mount
Plaza de ArmasPlaza de ArmasPlaza de Armas

main square
Misit which one of the volunteers trekked. I might do that but it seems like its very difficult. Another of the main plaza, which is a lot busier than in the photo! with maniac taxi drivers everywhere!! And the last on is a canyon near the city which is twice the depth of the grand canyon, I´m planning on doing a 3 day trek down it at some point!

Ok thats it for now, not all that much to update on day 2. Will update after I start volunteering!

Madeleine
x


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

CanyonCanyon
Canyon

colca canyon


12th June 2008

cool
Wow,all sounds amazing Magdie!!
12th June 2008

marianne.boyle@dit.ie
hey mags soz I missed you there ring again!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb