Arequipa, Peru (Oct. 25 - Oct. 31, 2017)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Arequipa
October 26th 2017
Published: December 30th 2020
Edit Blog Post





The night bus dropped me off in the outskirts of Arequipa. I walked for a bit and hailed a tax for the center. I didn't book a hostel in advance, so I walked the center looking for one. I walked into one and they showed and the dorm room. I was full and half the people were half naked. People of European descent. Some looked at me. I got a weird vibe and left. It was a young college crowd. One of which I'd preferred not to be around. I picked up a local tourist pamphlet and decided on Peter's Hostel. The place was quaint. I checked in a took a nap. To my surprise, the receptionist was a girl from Indonesia. She has been traveling for 2 years and was dating the owner of the hostel. She also works as the bartender. I met a holiday traveler from Germany. He was cool. We hung out and walked around the city. We had dinner at a little local spot. I had the Rocoto Relleno. It blew my mind. Went on a city tour, met a couple of cool people and did some research about the Colca Canyon Trek.

I came back to Peter's Hostel after the Colca Canyon Trek. Stayed for a night and took the night bus to Cusco. Had a cream filled churo while I waited. It was glorious. Met a young couple from the Czech Republic that had strong opinions about Americans, but didn't considered me a typical American because I was born in Vietnam. They told me that there is a large Vietnamese community in the Czech Republic as well. We had dinner at the bus station and boarded the night bus. It was an elegant bus. The best I've been on while backpacking.

Work up the next morning and my stomach was wrecked. They restroom on the bus was only meant for number 1, but I left a number 5 in it. Haha!



Yanahuara overlook







Basilica Cathedral of Arequipa



Inside Basilica Cathedral of Arequipa



Inside Basilica Cathedral of Arequipa







Plaza de Armas Arequipa










Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb