Colca Canyon Trek (Oct. 27-Oct. 30, 2017)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Arequipa » Colca Canyon
October 27th 2017
Published: December 31st 2020
Edit Blog Post

The Colca Canyon Trek is a trek that be done in 3 days and 2 night.



-Arequipa to Cabanaconde: Take the bus (Bus Reina) from Arequipa to Cabanaconde. Spend the night in one Cabanaconde and then head out the next morning. I didn't do much in Cabanaconde. It was a perfect little town without much to entertained. I ate at a local eatery, that served simple everyday meals.





Cabanaconde







-Cabanaconde to Oasis: Head out the next morning to Oasis. You can stay one night in Oasis and then head back to Cabanaconde if you are short of time. The hike from Oasis to Cabanaconde is uphill and takes approximately 4 - 5 hours, depending on fitness level. It took me a bit of time to get downhill to Oasis, but I did it at my own pace. My knee was cooperative the whole descent.



-Oasis to Lluhuar: After spending a night in Oasis, head out to Lluhuar. This section of the hike was relatively easy. The path was mostly even except at the start. There were some possible hazards though. The main path of this hike is a also a main road, so cars and trucks often sped by.




-Lluhuar to Cabanaconde: From Lluhuar head back to Cabanaconde and catch the bus back to Arequipa. There was an outdoor Jacuzzi at the guesthouse. I was planning on using it at night, but it got too cold and dark. There were also several other guests staying there, which dissuaded my decision. I woke up before sunrise the next morning to head back to Cabanaconde. Time was a crunch that day as I pushed myself to make it back to town for the 9am bus back to Arequipa. I made it on time for the bus. Along the way I found a walking stick, of which I had grown attached to. I took it back to Peter's Hostel, but decided to not take it any further on my trip due to foreseeable logistically setbacks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

OasisOasis
Oasis

Oasis from above.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb