I´m a real farmers hand now...honestly!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz
March 10th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I think this has possibly been the craziest week so far...I actually have been living in a mud hut...a real one...with real mud...and real peruvian muddy people living inside!!

This girl who grew up in the city (well the wu is kind of a city...it has a cathedral!) lived all week without a shower (I washed in dirty stream water) without a flushing toilet (the local cows blushed when they saw me relieve myself) without electricity (I still managed to spot the rat in my room with my trusted candle) and with only potatoes, rice and corn to perk me up!!

but now I am a fully fledged farmers girl...I´ve got grit down my stubby nails, my hands have browned in the sum (shame about the rest of my pasty appearance), I have taken cattle out to graze in the mountains, I have planted fresh herbs, weeded huge vegetable rows ( no that doesn´t mean I want to do it when I get home mum!) dug up potatoes and sown seeds!!

Truly a unique experience sat around the kitchen fire at night listening to the massive family speak every word in quechua...i tried my dodgy spanish but they just looked, frowned and laughed...quite a lot!! I resigned myself to the fact that kids find me much funnier...its amazing how much fun you can have with a knotted up head scarf...good job the next three weeks I spend with kids in an orphanage...my mental age could be regressing however!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



15th March 2007

no tire el perrito!
No tire el perrito en el piso ( or el suelo if you're inside). I still think Ellie is cuter despite her ears looking forward to you weeding the garden when you get home; it will be a doddle compared to Peruvian mud. I have planted the beetroot you bought me and of course some courgettes, bet you can't wait to eat those! Speak soon lots of love mummy xxxx P.S. Wot are you reading now?
20th March 2007

Where did Johnathan get those blue trousers i wanna pair!
Hey,! Well it sounds bloody ace over there!! Well apart from not having a proper wash!!! u stinker!!!! he he Great photo's, thought one of them you looked like you'd been to a rave, soo much colour!!! where are the glow sticks!!? Keep having a fab time, love, avid reader, mike x
26th March 2007

Language Skills
Am I going to have to learn Spanish for when you get back... only asking as I dont want you moaning about me when I dont know what your saying lol ;) Miss you loads... Mexxx

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb