earwigs and scorpions!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ancash » Huaraz
February 24th 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mountain life is going well...in the end we planted nearly 750 trees...the next project...a kiddies playground!! How much was I loving getting my hands on power tools!!(yes they even have them out here!!) We´re nearly there, only one swing left to fix...and obviously we tested them to make sure they´re secure!!

I had to show our new friends Arnold and Kevin how to use them because they had literally never been on a swing before!! As you see from the photographs they soon got the hang of it!!

We´re all getting used to the no television, the no electricity and the no telephone through the week ( mum would be proud, I´m on to my 4th book!)...I´d even got used to the spiders and creepy crawlies around the place...Infact I found myself rescuing one or too during my tree planting days....however, my kindness stops at scorpions and earwigs!! Do they not know that they are not welcome on my pillow at bedtime?!! Thankfully the earwigs only made it into my bed...the scorpion had the decency to just scramble up the wall beside my head, whilst I read my book by candle light! Thank god for Stephanie, whose dad is a professor of reptiles and crawly things..she grew up in Oman and had no fear catching the blighter in a glass and taking it outside our cave dorm walls!! I have now chosen to sllep tightly curled up in my sleeping bag for the remainder of my stay...I´ve managed to sort the arrangement so that just my eyes and nose peek out, just enough to breathe with no chance that scorpions could get the better of me!

The latter part of this week, we´ve been working with the local mayor and his councillors to build a stone plaque to welcome visitors into the village. I knew my degree would come in handy somewhere...I spent the last few days getting creative and designing the lettering for the central wooden sign to stand in the middle of the stone!! I place my mark on this place forever, hahahaha!! Amazing how long anything takes to do out here though...they havént quite grasped our rules of efficiency...but then that too is something I´m coping with...I might even come home a little more chilled out...as I´m sure my folks will be happy about!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



24th February 2007

Wot you're actually reading!!
Glad to hear that your education has been worthwhile, 4 books I'm amazed - are they in English or Spanish? trust you're having a good time saving on electricity - so are we as the computer is often out of action !! Love the pic of you and Arnold he looks cute. speak soon love mum xxx
26th February 2007

Wonders never cease
Great to read your blog. Good to know that Stephanie didn't just blam the scorpion with her boot !! Lovely photos. Hope you continue to have a great time.
26th February 2007

Any more room in your rucksack?
Hi Sarah You're doing a grand job, it'll make a woman out of you! Love the blog and the pics. If you've got room alongside Arnold in your rucksack, bring me back a Peruvian midget wife, looks and age unimportant - must be subservient and a good grafter! (you English girls take note!!) Enjoy Des
27th February 2007

Oh bird!
Hey i've checked out your photos and it looks great! Glad to see your swing got the seal of approval! You're a braver woman than me saving spiders and sharing a room with a scorpion, I can't say that I envy you on that one!! I can't believe it's been 6 weeks, bet it's flown by for you! Miss you bird but great to see you're well!! Em xx
12th March 2007

Puppys!!!!!
Sarah, you know that there are 2 pupps in that pic and I want one of them, so pack them both please! xxxx

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb