I´m being all grown up and going it alone!!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
March 31st 2007
Published: March 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I´ve now finished my voluntary work and the asylum have released me into the big wide world to explore what is out there for the taking!

I spent my last two weeks in Huaraz working with kiddies from the local community. my spanish was debatable but I found that draw any one of them a monkey and they were your friend for life!! week one I worked in a soup kitchen, where parents brought their kids before and after school so that they could at least get one good meal a day...albeit rice and soup...it was better than eating nothing! I spent my project budget on processing one picture for each kiddie so that they could take it home and at least know what they looked like when they were younger...amazing what we take for granted! you should have seen their faces when I showed them themselves on the screen of my camera...I had to take more pictures just of their reactions!! Week two I spent in a tiny school for 3-5 year olds, build by the project I´ve been working for! It was quite well equipped but I added to their fun by buying some balls, skipping ropes, a tennis set and some jigsaw puzzles...I was in my element when the entire local community decided to join in the fun at playtime!!

On my final day in Huaraz, myself and Katrina and Stephanie decided we´d attempt to be a little active and hire some bikes and descend down the nearest mountain. After a sketchy 1 hour taxi ride up on lots of windy roads, we were feeling confident. However, we spoke too soon when only ten minutes later, stephanie flew spectacularly off on to her front...a few scrapes but nothing major. Being unexperienced riders we vowed to take it steady...until... another ten minutes down the road, Katrina came skidding sideways towards me. After not liking the look of her knee, I managed with all my might to flag down a huge, most gigantic melon truck, loaded to the seams!! I asked very nicely and smiled very sweetly. Two minutes later, our three bikes were loaded precariously ontop of the melons and we were sat all cosy in the bunk compartment of the truck!! It took probably another two hours to get down the mountain but we had full panoramic views of the scenery and peruvian music to set the atmosphere...who could have asked for a more random experience!! Unfortunately after getting Katrina to the clinic, she had actually fell so badly that she had grazed her bone, but se4veral stitches and a hefty bill later we were giggling about it!! Serves us right for trying to active!!

I spent two days in Lima (peru´s capital) with a lovely lady called Chris. I met her in Huaraz and she happened to be a fantastic jeweller in New Zealand. We spent two solid days going mad sourcing materials!!oh what fun,hehe!! I´m now in Cusco and am waiting for the other girls to join me so that we can visit the mighty Machu Picchu!! It´s been nice getting up in the morning with the whole day to venture out and explore. Whilst looking like a typical tourist in the plaza the other day, I was approached by a young boy...he was selling postcards but before knew it, two hours later he was still showing me the sites...and that´s what I love about this place...you get yourself into situations that would be unheard of back at home! so much to do and so little time...love to you all xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



1st April 2007

Hello!
So glad to hear about your fantastic experiences. Glad you've met some nice people and are travelling about doing the things you want.Would be so nice to be travelling with you. Keep safe. Nice to see the Fat Face dress in action and the bargain anorak we picked up before you left! Lots and lots of love x

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb