Things I've learnt in Asunción - 9 Feb 2011


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Not much going on in the news this week except they are on the look out for killer-traffic-lights after realising the traffic lights have been malfunctioning and caused one death last week. I've recovered from last week's illness, feeling at the top of my game again!

Everybody really is on facebook...we just got my sister-in-law to sign up - she went to school under a tree (remember I exagerrate) and now she is on facebook!

Valentine's Day is a lot cheaper here...dinner for two, free bar, live music at the best hotel in the country for 80 quid -deals!

Burger King's Oreo KinMix icecream...I've learnt of it's beautiful, tasty existence.

Cometh the hour cometh the Mosquito...normally just when the sun is going down and I'm trying to relax after work, or just as I lie down in bed.

Paraguay is suffering global de-warming...it hasn't broken 30 degrees yet this week which is unheard of in the summer, Ice Age 4?

I miss Thames Water...they were crap but at least they wouldn't take 3 days (and counting) to fix a burst pipe - come on ESSAP you mugs!


Question of the week/Geography lesson of the week

"Where does your Uncle live" Carmen to me
"Uganda"
"Is that in Asia?"
"No Africa"
"So it's in Asia then!"
"No it's in AFRICA"
"But Africa is in Asia isn't it?"
A session on Google Maps followed.


Ralph Hannah
Follow me on Twitter @paraguayralph


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb