Things I've learnt in Asunción - 2 Feb 2011


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Currently writing this while eating a bowl of plain rice as I try and stave off a nasty bout of diarrhea, still tyring to pinpoint the cause and I'm going for Ice Cream as the only possible cause, because it couldn't have been the pizza we ate afterwards that was yummy as always! Anyway onto things I learnt (other than the danger of trying to respond to MSN before responding to your bowels).


The lunchtime news is not for watching while eating your lunch...the first 3 stories were about car crashes and a murder all picturing dead bodies. Not what I want while munching on my ravioles.

Private healthcare is pretty good here...again from the news, a man survived 8 gunshots over the weekend including his neck, he is a millionaire so was in a private clinic - currently in a stable condition.

Everybody has a poo story...as we found out at my brother-in-law's birthday party, once one person let an anecodote go we all chipped in with our favourite poo story!

Still can't get used to horses on the street...it would make sense in the countryside, but on the major thoroughfares in the capital city?! The kids who ride them have some balls.

The era of 65p lunches are over...it has gone up from 5.000 to 6.000 guaranies or 80p at my local "comedor" - gutted.

Nobody likes Shakira in Paraguay...poor girl is struggling to sell out her concert next month, she has already moved to a smaller venue but at £13.50 nobody wants to see her!

Gilberto Silva still supports Arsenal...Twitter, I'm loving it. @paraguayralph if you want to follow me!

Funny linguist of the week
The man sat next to us at the football who tried to get the annoying guy in front to sit down.
"Sentarse"
Spanish failed
"Oguapy"
Guarani failed
"Sit down, please"
English failed but got a laugh out of everyone and impressed me!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb