Things I've learnt in Asunción - 13 Oct 2010


Advertisement
Paraguay's flag
South America » Paraguay » Asunciòn
October 13th 2010
Published: October 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Shorts that don't fitShorts that don't fitShorts that don't fit

My only pair of shorts that aren't Arsenal or Nike.
Firstly you are probably all wondering about the result's of last week's HIV test, it was positive...in the sense that I don't have HIV (been saving that joke for about 5 days). Anyway onto this week's things I've learnt...

Losing weight isn't good...when your shorts threaten to fall down around your ankles every 30 seconds.

The cinema is only £1.50 on Wednesday...Orange Wednesdays sounds a bit sh*te now doesn't it?!

It is only a matter of time before you become obsessed with sweeping...I could never get my head round the people who were constantly sweeping their front porches every day, but I've noticed by PTS (Propensity to Sweep) rocket since I got here. In fact I have an urge to sweep my balcony right now. WHERE DOES THE DUST COME FROM?!

The bus to Capellania will always take 3 hrs 30 minutes...it is incredible. It doesn't matter what time of day you leave or what day of the week either. You can be on a bus so full that people are hanging on outside or stretching out with two seats to yourself but you will arrive in Caraguatay 3 hours after you left, go around the city
Sweeping obsessionSweeping obsessionSweeping obsession

Just can't stop sweeping that balcony!
centre (e.g. the block) then head off to Capellania and get there half an hour later. Who said Paraguayans can't tell the time?

Paraguayan's Question of the week
Overweight and profusely sweating security guard: "Hey my friend, are you going to the supermarket?"
Me: "No, I'm on my way home"
Security Guard "Oh I thought you were going to the supermarket because it is also that way, I was going to ask you to bring me a Coke"

Odd...and slightly rude.

Random Question of the week
Bobby, Bristol
"Ralph didn't you predict England would draw 0-0 with Montenegro?" - sort of, the evidence is here in my other blog: http://footballtoptens.wordpress.com/




Advertisement



14th October 2010

Buy a belt
Shorts falling down? There's a novel new contraption out on the market called a 'belt'. It's worth a try. Either that, or head back to London and go on a Macca's/Sainsbury's Meal Deal/Guinness session @ Feathers spree.
15th October 2010

@Tom
Haha - glad to know you're reading this - pass it round the office as well - definite Feathers sesh when I'm back (22nd Dec?) but doubt I will be standing by 17:30!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb