Things I've learnt in Mexico - 20 Oct 2010


Advertisement
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

One loooong tortillaOne loooong tortillaOne loooong tortilla

For the largest enchilada!
Seeing as I spent the last four days in Mexico City it seemed apt that I change the title, just for this week! For those of you wondering why, it was a world record for the largest enchilada - you can see a video of it on Facebook, if you like to see me dubbed into English (ironic) while wearing a suit.

Mexicans don't really care much for toilet seats...or there is a toilet seat thief raiding Mexico's bathrooms because I didn't encounter one outside of my hotel room.

There are prawn enchiladas...in fact there are 100s of different varieties as I discovered at the 8th Enchilada Festival of Iztapalapa!

Aztecs loooooove stairs...the only explanation for those bloody pyramids, was nearly sick at the top of the sun pyramid and desperately hoping to be used as a human sacrifice so I didn't have to clamber down again.

Brazilians play baseball...seriously. The national Brazilian baseball team were on my plane on the way home.

Ok here is a bonus one from AsunciĆ³n for those of you who are still reading!

There are some seriously scary bugs nesting in my kitchen...check the critter in the photo, I
Top of the Templo del SolTop of the Templo del SolTop of the Templo del Sol

Sacrifice me now!!
found that while washing my flip flops (which somehow turned more dirty after I'd washed them?!?!)

Question of the week:
Brazilian lady at Mexico City Airport
"Why are all these people standing here?"

It was a queue...clearly something not to have reached Brazil yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Prawn EnchiladasPrawn Enchiladas
Prawn Enchiladas

See they really do exist!
WTF?!?!WTF?!?!
WTF?!?!

I have no idea what this is...I mean was, I splatted it soon after.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb