Chicken hearts anyone?


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro
July 4th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Brasil

Have spent the last week travelling this route, camping by the beach and seeing some amazing scenery - both very hilly and some very flat.

Hey all

Thought it was time for a weekly update.... We are in Foz do Iguazu right now and over the next couple of days we are visiting the Iguazu Falls and visiting Argentina, Paraguay and Brasil in the process. (Thankfully I´ve got a couple of blank pages left in that battered passport of mine...)

I can´t believe it was almost a week ago that we left Rio. Feels like we´ve seen so much and done even more driving (but playing poker and blackjack seems to help the time pass)...

We all met up at our hotel in Rio last Saturday night and found out who was who in the tour. We´ve got 6 Americans, 4 Brits, 3 Irish, 2 kiwis and 1 ozzie. Our guide (Pedro) is from Portugal and our driver (Dave) is a saffa. Everyone is really nice and we all get on well.

It was on the first night that we went to a buffet place. I´ve visited a few of these already and I don´t think I´ve ever eaten so much meat in my life as they just keep bringing it out to you on these big skewers - pork, beef - everything. The speciality here seems to be chicken hearts and yes I was game enough to try it. It was kinda like beef but a firmer texture. Let´s just say I ate it but once was enough. (Yes I do have pictures and will put them up when I burn my photos).

The next day we headed to Paraty and stayed at a hostel right on the beach which was awesome. Its a cute little town with cobbled roads, built in such a way that when high tide comes, it washes the streets at the same time. One of the days, we did a boat cruise around the islands which was amazing. I went snorkelling and saw fish (although nothing can compare with Dahub in Egypt) and the beaches were something like out of treasure island with the golden sand and heavy bush behind you.

After Paraty, we headed to two other places (names which have escaped me) and we spent two nights camping by the beach. While I don´t mind camping, life is too short for no showers and damp sleeping bags so most of us are upgrading when we can. Night before last, we slept in a hall which was a little warmer than if we were to sleep in a tent but we didn´t fancy attempting to dismantle a tent at 5.30am when we had to be on the road at 6am.

We are now in Foz do Iguazu, which is near the Iguazu Falls. Over the next couple of days, we are off to discover the falls from both the Brasilian and Argentinian sides and some of us are hoping to do the helicopter trip over the falls. We´re also going to visit a bird park which has tucan birds which we can hold and pat which should be amazing. I´m seriously hoping that there are going to be no snakes there but guess I´m in the wrong part of the world for that.

Anyway hope you´re all well. I off to enjoy the lovely warm sunshine while I can rather than sitting in a dark internet cafe, so till next time...
Brooke x

Advertisement



7th July 2008

Porto Alegre
Hi Brooke, If you happen to be heading to Porto Alegre at all (not sure why, but you know) let me know and I will give you my mate Andres details to show you round. Keep safe Jealous Joel

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb