More Saquarema


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Saquarema
October 28th 2009
Published: October 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The last couple of days have been a bit frustrating. This is simply because I think I am the only person in this town that speaks english at all. My goal here was to learn Portuguese. I am trying, and to some degree I am picking up a few words here and there. I sure study a lot. What happens is every time I am put in a situation to try to speak to someone it seems as though someone has tied a rope around my tongue...with a boat anchor attached to the other end. Arrgh. To my credit I can speak better Portuguese than most people here can speak english. This place does totally rock though.

Yesterday went to the beach, did a little biking, and did a little studying. It seems the beach here is really reserved for the weekend. No one was there yesterday. I had no problem with that at all. Sent off Nayse's brother on the bus that goes to Rio where he lives and works. He now refers to me as brother. I think I now have a second family here in Brazil.

On Mondays about a block away at a local bar they have a bbq that is cooked out on the patio with live music. We had been planning to go for a few days. Nuson (Nayses father) knows Luis who puts it on. Luis invited us friday or saturday when we grabbed a beer and some food there on Friday. So everyone about 8 of us pile into 2 cars and head there about 1030pm. Yea I know we were only going a block. I don't ask questions. Were all sitting down listing to music drinking beer. I decide to order a shot and ask if anyone would like one (mind you it is all being translated by Nayse. Carlos who is at the end of the table raised his hand. I really dont know what the hell I ordered but it was really strong and tasted like 150 proof vodka with some black licorice and of course was highly recommended by the snickering waitress behind the bar. I ended up ordering 4 or 5 with Carlos. I didnt realize that Carlos was also drinking a lot of beer and something and some other drinks.

Now this story wouldn't be that interesting or funny until you fast foward to today. The story translated was basically this from Carlos. "I got really really drunk last night, got up this afternoon and took a bus ride. Bus was weaving around I was sweating and I tried to hold it in splashing water on my face and but vomited everywhere on the bus". I couldn't stop laughing.

I will post some more pictures for this blog tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb