Week One - second attempt


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

For some reason I seem to have made an arse of my typing up my first week. The pictures are back to front and I typed a whole load more and I´ve no idea what happened to it. I can´t remember what I had typed either!

Anyway, to continue.................

I´m working in a favela called Prazeres. It´s only a 10 minute walk from the house so it´s pretty good.

My first day of teaching was ok. I had two girls fighting and rolling around on the floor with handfulls of each other´s hair. We also had the police come calling which meant a bit of friendly fire with the locals. I´ve been told that nobody ever gets shot but we´ve to stay indoors when they come calling just in case! It´s probably not as bad as it sounds. I feel pretty safe when I´m there.

Friday we went to a samba club and, lucky me, I was the only one in our group that got asked to dance. Unfortunately, it was by the shortest, sweatiest man in there - much to the amusement of the rest of our table. Hasty exit was made thereafter.

Saturday was my first favela party. Which was a bit of an eye opener. The amount of flesh on display and the women´s outfits left little to the imagination. Especially the heavily pregnant woman (looking like giving birth was imminent) wearing the bikini top and lycra cycling shorts. Not sure what fashion statement she was trying to make but she was having nobody show her up in the bumping and grinding stakes.

On Sunday we went up to Corcovdo for the sunset which was quite nice apart from the hundreds of tourists that were there! Photos will follow.

Week two to follow shortly.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.488s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.3822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb