One week down


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can´t belive I´ve only been here a week, it feels like ages.

The most important thing is the weather is great - hot and sunny every day. Have managed not to get burnt so far but I guess there´s plenty of time for that.

Eventually started work at my placement this week. Monday was orientation day but the guy that runs my project wasn´t there so he was going to pick me up on Tuesday at 9am. Being on Brazil time this eventually changed to 11am, 1pm and then 3pm. Needless to say he didn´t turn up at 3 either! Nor the next day.................

I eventually started teaching on Thursday. The project is called Danca pra Galera, which means dance to the crowd. As well as English the kids are taught dance, environmental issues and health education. They also have a health clinic which provides contraception for the residents.

The kids are great.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



4th May 2006

Down to Rio
Great photos and interesting read. Look forward to more.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb