Sheep Bunnies and hot tub randoms...


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Copacabana
September 10th 2010
Published: September 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day Four-9th September

We awoke very early again and took advantage of the great Pestana Breakfast, once fed we returned to our room to pack in preparation for our new digs.
I spent most of my free time when not packing before leaving the hotel either sleeping or watching the Rio rooftops for interesting birdlife, there were some lovely blue, yellow and green finch like birds skittering around but none would come close enough for me to effectively photograph until the arrival of Dave the Carioca Pigeon, although our time with Dave was brief it was special and will remain with me for always and although Dave was a rather ugly and common bird.. and most likely a female pigeon heshe was the ONLY bird willing to sit close enough and still enough for me to snap so I relished the opportunity, I got him with the portrait lens, went inside to get the zoom and came back to hear Liz screaming “No Dave!! Don’t do it Dave!!”... Dave jumped and flew off into the rainy Brazilian Skies.
I only managed to get Dave’s tail feathers up close as he buggered off.
We got our stuff together with our heads hung low after Dave’s untimely departure and left our bags at reception since we had an hour to kill between checking out and checking in at the SOB and as the weather was making a turn for the better we decided to take advantage of the $3 Caiparinias on the beach, while sitting there sipping away at our tasty cocktails and i was trying my hardest to convince Liz that there is nothing bad about the Brazilian swimwear and that she should probably invest in some to be sure we were approached by some street vendors, one of them who although smiling also looked a little unhinged and was selling football shirts, i said “no thank you” in my most polite Portuguese about eight times he kept going through various famous footballers named shirts and eventually when he realised that no thank you eight times meant i probably wasn’t going to buy one “like i say the guy didn’t look the full ticket” he called me “sheepy sheepy” and did a bunny ears gesture at me and off the loony toddled.
I have absolutely no idea what and why he was calling me a sheep bunny, to him it was
Hasta la vistaHasta la vistaHasta la vista

I found termites in the shower
probably an insult but Liz and I were finding it very hard not to wet ourselves.
We got our stuff and went to the Hostel by Cab since although it is only a 10 minute walk away from the Hotel it’s not ideal to wander around Rio looking like lost sheep bunnies with lots of stuff to nick.
Wow this Hostel is something! It’s very lively and full to the brim with sheep bunnies like us no sooner than we walked through the door we started making friends with a couple of guys called Ben and Matt who were checking in at the same time, we got a brief tour of the place from the friendly staff and taken to our room.
Once settled we went upstairs to the roof bar and chatted to Ben for a while, we then went to the minimart next door and made a feeble attempt at cooking pasta with tuna and tomato sauce in the communal kitchen... by golly it was terrible, i think we might not attempt to use the communal kitchen again in a hurry suddenly fried pizza seems quite appetizing.
Once we had eaten our god awful supper Liz started to doze off, as it was only about 19:00 local time i convinced her that beer was the answer and made a deal with her to stay awake till at least 21:00 so we went back upstairs to the roof bar to obtain said beer.
When we got our beers i noticed a girl hanging by the bar who looked very much like someone who I’ve seen smoking outside at work, I mentioned it to Liz who I think thought it was probably an excuse for me to eye up a girl as she was not seeing a similarity to anyone from work.
While we were chatting away i was becoming more and more convinced that it was the same girl but was finding it hard to believe myself since we are in far off Rio not Ibiza, then i overheard the girls voice and it was an English accent! By now I’m like 95% sure that it’s the same girl but Liz was rolling her eyes and calling me a perv, she said why don’t you just go and ask her? To which I replied in my most whimpy voice nooooooo what if I’m wrong I’m going to look like a dick!
(any man reading this will know that approaching a girl and her friends at a bar and saying don’t i know you from somewhere especially when wearing a wedding ring is going to look dodgy)
The girl then got into the heated pool and started splashing about Liz said go on go and ask her! I said only if we get in the pool cos i wanted to try the heated pool anyway, Liz was like no way am i getting in there just so you can chat up some bird ;-) i want to go to bed, how’s about I bloody ask her if you’re so sure... ok then i said go on then i will look far less creepy if you do it, the girl was splishing around asking for a lighter so Liz offered her my lighter and asked if she worked for discovery, my head was facing the other way covered by my palms as the odds were that i was about to be monumentally embarrassed... but no... Instead i heard girly shrieking and lots of “oh my god no way”
He shoots
He scores
Five minutes later we were all in the pool splishing around and making friends again and this time with someone we have been working with for years but never spoke to!.. in Rio... in a heated pool on a rooftop... random as fluff
Then we went to bed at about 11 and drunk
Love ya’s
Ellz xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



13th September 2010

I know who it is
It was Kate.......... She came up to me at breakfast........ and I now recognise her in the pics :-)

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb