Talking with Jesus


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Rio de Janeiro » Rio de Janeiro » Centro
December 14th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Big ManThe Big ManThe Big Man

here he is in all his glory
Waiting for a beautiful day to take the trek up to the top of caricauna (or something) to see the big man. And Monday was he day. Sitting around the hostel for a wee while, we managed to gather the troops and about 8 of us headed off on a local bus journey with your truly being the guide - are they madmen...?!?!?

Off bus, attacked by portugeese minibus driver, kicked in, door shut - off we go! yippeeee..... he took us to the first look out point which is like on the hilltop/mountain beside the christ. But the views are unbelieveable!! You can see right over Rio and realise how it streches through the hillsides and drops down into favella´s and tower blocks and well basically a pretty diiiirty city - but still beautiful!!! Took loads of photo´s, Percy included in quite a few and then bounced back into the minbus to see the main man gimself....

windy windy windy hillside path with crazy driver on an inclined slope ofabout 30 degrees, and there´s me thought I could drive a minibus in my thrifty days - apparently not!!! lol...got to the top and dandered up the steps, o....there´s Jesus´bum...Hi Jesus! The statue is huge....appartently 30 metres tall and 27 metres wide so I was told, but a lovely piece of sculpture all the same. The views from up there are magnificent too but what takes the magic away from the polace is the fact that there are so many oher people dandering around and its hard to get good shots in with the camera. But sooo glad I went to see him - a really lovely chap!

Yes I have photos, but again I´m gonna have to get back to you with these...I a bit wick really...These wil be posted!

So, I´ve covered Jesus...football was good atmosphere but the standard was crap. The stadium used to hod 200´000, before they put seats in. It was packed out for maradonnas last match too....hmmmmm....

So now I must go and find a beach, did I mention it wa 32 degrees outside - YES 32!!!! how we all doing in diddly freezing cold december U.K. ? having fun???

I AM


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

JesusJesus
Jesus

...need I say more...
The teamThe team
The team

this was the tour I was leading...Got us to the top so I was happy!


Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb