Brazilian Habits


Advertisement
Brazil's flag
South America » Brazil » Paraná » Foz do Iguaçu
March 2nd 2006
Published: March 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Man in bikiniMan in bikiniMan in bikini

Min2, here´s your hunk
Finally got out of Rio. Took a long long journey from Rio de Janiero to Foz do Iguacu. On this 25 hrs journey, some thoughts abt the interesting habits of Brazilian ppl flashed through my mind. Here´s some to share (pictures to be accompanied later)

1. With Rio being renowned for its beautiful beaches, it is without doubt that we get to see ppl walking ard in swimwear. But in this city, they not only wear swimwear on the beach but also on the streets, on buses & subway, at street parades and even at places of interest like the statue of Christ The Redeemer!!!! But I must say these ppl really have got good bodies.

2, Even pregnant women wear a bikini top, showing off their big belly! Not bad for a way to save on maternity clothes.

3. And yes, not only women wear bikini here. Men too!

4. Brazilians bring along pillow (yes, the big and soft type, not the inflatable kind) wherever they go. We often see people carrying their barang in one hand and hugging a pillow in the other. Have always been my secret fantasy to bring a pillow or bolster when I travel. Maybe this is the only time I can fulfill my secret fantasy without looking strange 😊

5. People here do not carry proper bags. They carry their barang barang in shopping/ plastic bags. Either this is the best way to avoid getting mugged or the ppl here get robbed so often that they gave up buying proper bags.






Advertisement



3rd March 2006

u can try wearing bikini and carrying ur smelly smelly pillow to orchard road when u r back....i help u call reporters down to interview u ok...haha
3rd March 2006

hi hi
wah like alot of exciting adventures hor..hahah but think the pillow thingy very cute..me only bring pillow when go for midnight show.....will be good to be able to bring it around...but think will be smelly with the drool, etc...hahhaahh
13th April 2010

I thought I was normal!
I am a dual citizen -- and have always traveled with my pillow. ALWAYS! The same pillow has been to Rio, Salvador, the Amazon, all over the U.S., Europe and Africa. I thought everyone did this. Maybe not. See, I learned something new about my brazilian herritage today.
31st May 2011

the brazilian guys not usually wear bikinis they do it at Carnaval, a big traditional party happens in every city in Brazil I'd loved it

Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb