O´de to Bolivia


Advertisement
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chubby´sChubby´sChubby´s

Milkshakes...1.50.
Well our time in Bolivia is finally coming to an end, as we hope to have our Brazilian visas and be heading towards the boarder tonight. Up to this point, I would have to say that Bolivia has been my favourite country for many reasons including the food, the costs, and the people. Some highlights include learning that Jordan has the power to stop rain from falling by blowing towards the sky (according to our guide in Tupiza) and learning that yes, in fact, I am a Latino. At least the mafioso guy in Santa Cruz was convinced. They told him I was from Mexico, and from there on out my nickname was Chihuahua.

Food:

The number of awesome, cheap restaurants we found in Bolivia was simply amazing. Yes, two of the restaurants don´t necessarily serve traditional Bolivian food, but oh well. In third place would have to be Chubby´s, our favourite and frequently visited restaurant in Santa Cruz. Good Super Dely, good milkshakes, and good cake. The only reason they came in third is because of the cake incident. Second place goes to Minute Man pizza in Uyuni - simply incredible pizza. Top honour has to go
La PazLa PazLa Paz

Huge city, high altitude, difficult to explore.
out to the celeb chef in Oruro who made us an awesome rack of lamb for $5 dollars. By far the best meal of the trip.

Best Adventure:

Yes, the salt flats tour was amazing, especially partying with the Kiwis. There´s nothing like drinking until 3 or 4am at 4000m and having to get up at 5am to jeep across bumpy terrain. We pissed off everyone else in the dormitory but what can you do. The mines, death road were all awesome trips as well, but I would have to say my favourite was the two day horse back riding trip. Maybe it is because I was looking forward to doing something like that for a long time, but the cantering, galloping, and just doing what you damn well pleased was awesome.

Best City:

I am going to go with Santa Cruz on this one, not because it has anything special to offer aside from the amazingly gorgeous Bolivian girls, Chubby´s, and a pretty nice square, but simply due to the fact that I turned a quarter of a century here, and over three weeks ago, I had never even heard of it. The
CoroicoCoroicoCoroico

View from our suite in Sol y Luna
low altitude and hot weather also help. Yeah it was good to see snow, but I think I have had enough of that for a while.

Anyway, just thought I should do an update and take this time to put up some pictures. We´re heading for the Pantanel so I don´t know when the next time will be, but I am finding out that internet is everywhere so who knows.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Salt FlatsSalt Flats
Salt Flats

The salt hotel from the outside....
Minute ManMinute Man
Minute Man

Tried to finish a large and failed...miserably.
Salt Flats tourSalt Flats tour
Salt Flats tour

piss break forced by one of the three flat tires our truck got...
Outside the MinesOutside the Mines
Outside the Mines

The processing plant. Like Jas said, a WCB nightmare...
Salt Flat tourSalt Flat tour
Salt Flat tour

Close to the Chilean boarder. I wish I had some horseback riding pictures, but I was too busy holding on for dear life.


3rd February 2006

wowza
Ryan! Hey, I just found Jason's blog a little while ago and he sent out the address for yours. Just wanted to say hello, and way to go for making it on your journey. SO WICKED!!!! Still remember the days when you guys dreamt about this and now you're on this amazing, life altering trip. Love the stories, can't wait to read more of em. Take care, be safe, sounds like you're facing some pretty crazy challenges. Ciao! J.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb