Alive...thankfully.


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » La Paz
January 17th 2006
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The ConsulateThe ConsulateThe Consulate

001 (Jason) and 007 (Jordan) just protecting...unfortunately the gov´t makes it hard for travellers to vote.
Well by now I am sure most of you have read Jason´s last update on our dance with death. While I would like to say that he was exagerating, he wasn´t. In fact he may have even been underestimating the risks on that road. For some reason the vehicles going down hill get the worst of it: they are always on the outside, and if vehicles can´t get past each other, the driver going downhill has to go in reverse. I felt bad for the drivers of the dump trucks that were coming down when we were going up. I don´t know how they stayed on the road. Hell, when we were going down we almost backed ourselves right off the cliff....

After going through waterfalls and rivers we came around a corner to be face to face with a truck coming up. Our driver through it in reverse and quickly headed back to the corner we came from. Further and further he went towards the edge with myself and the three passengers in the back peering out the back window watching the amount or road between or tires and the edge quickly diminish. I was going to suggest to the driver that he stop, just as one of the woman in the back shouted it out. I am not sure why she said ¨stop¨even though her main language was Spanish. Anyway, I guess the driver knew what he was doing because he kept backing up towards the cliff, and now I could not see any road beneath us. I was frozen, convinced that we were going over. I am convinced that he stopped when there was enough room for the truck coming up to get by, not because there was no room behind us.

Coroico was awesome. A quaint little mountain retreat with hot tubs, wine, and horseback riding. We have had our first full days of rain in Coroico, and we even drove through a snowfall. (It´s not all sun and beeches).

Change is a problem in Bolivia, although we have managed to get by some how. Even the bank that I went to could not change more than one 100 Boliviano bill for me. 100 bolivianos is about the equivalent to 12 U.S. dollars.

Bolivia is quickly becoming my favourite country of this trip so far, though I have to find out why so
Outside of La PazOutside of La PazOutside of La Paz

Bolivia has it all...
many old ladies wear those top hats.



Advertisement



22nd January 2006

Valey of the moon
Ryan you deffinately have to check out the valley of the moon .It's a 20 min ride by cab ouside of La Paz. Time it with the full moon.You will not be sorry it is mejor !! Be prepared to take some of the most amazing pics.

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb