Death Road


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » La Paz Department » Yungas Road
December 29th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello,
While I was in Bolivia I was told I had to do a bike trip down the worlds deadliest road or better named the "Death Road". So who was I to turn down such an opportunity?? I had met up with a few people on the Islands of Lake Titicaca and continued to travel with them to Bolivia. the three of us did the ride, Thomas is from OZ and Caz is from England. A photo CD was included in the tour which made it nice so you didnt have to bring a camera.

I should tell you that it was a very fast pace ride you drop from 4600m (13800 ft) to 1300m (3900 ft) in 64km. And I will admit I did fall but it not too bad I was one of 5 who fell and there were I think 12 in the group.

The Road to Coroico (death road) was once the only road to and from the area there were so many death on the road that they eventualy opened a new road to save lives.. people still drive the road and last year a tour bus drove off the cliff killing a large # of poeple. There have only been a few deaths on it on a bike so they said, and they were all rider error...

It was a fantastic experience and would do it again in a heart beat.. Well here you go..


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

TollToll
Toll

You had to pay a toll to go down the "death road"
The Death RoadThe Death Road
The Death Road

This is the starting point of the actual road..
Needed RestNeeded Rest
Needed Rest

After a huge 3k up hill it was time for a little R & R.. Thomas and I
The viewThe view
The view

Thats the hardest part of this ride you cant look around you have to focus on the road. If you look for a few seconds you have a chance of falling 1500ft at points....
Inca RuinsInca Ruins
Inca Ruins

More bviews from the road..


4th January 2008

Mad Max !!!!
WOW! Death road, sounds like a Mad Max flick to me. However it does sound like alot of fun, happy to hear you made it out fine Jim.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb