Journey to a New World


Advertisement
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My master disciplineMy master disciplineMy master discipline

Showed those Bolivianos where the hammer hangs
Hola mis amigos y familia!
So this is my first La Paz entry. But before starting with that just a quick overview of how I am. Well quite simply not so great because I´m sick. Now there may be several reasons for that. It could be that spending 5 days in a dusty apartment is probably not all too good for you health. Also it could be that jetting around the world and not staying in a certain time zone ´might upset the natural rythm of your body. In addition to that, having ridiculous friends who have ridiculoous parties which cause you to have rediculous bedtimes doesn´t help. When you do just about everything that´s bad for your body besides that you shouldn´t really wonder.
Of course it could also be that the Air Conditioning in the plane is responsible or that maybe I just caught something of someone.
By now, being the hypochondriac I tend to be when fixated on my own unwellbeing, I have suspected myself of just about everything, starting with swine flu, a simple sore throat, Mono and a Cold.
I´m pretty sure I´m just freaking myself out and its probably no more than a Cold but
Holler MaskHoller MaskHoller Mask

You see the Holler influences even in Bolivia
just to be on the safe side I started taking Tamiflu yesterday and will for the next 4 days. Fortunaltely my smart mother decided that it may be important and here we are. Thank you Mum.
When I arrived yesterday in the early hours of day I was exhausted. I hadn´t eaten in 18 hours and slept only 5 hours the day before. When told what the temperature outside was by the Captain of the plane I didn´t really want to believe my ears. -1 C !!! That´s certainly not what I expected. I´d always had this super sunny image of South America but evidently I was wrong.
So, after having changed some dollars for Bolivianos, Nicholle (my step cousin) picked me up and we took a Taxi to her house. 40 Bolivianos for half an hour of driving... that´s about 7 Dollars. We had some breakfast and I decided that I needed more sleep. So I napped for a good 5 hours and woke up just in time for lunch. I met Nicholles siblings and bozfriend who are all really nice. Unfortunately their english is as good as my spanish and our conversation was broken. But I think that with hands and feet and some interpretation on both parts we managed pretty well.
After lunch I went back to sleep, waking up occasionally being shaken by shivers and feeling sorry for myself. By 5 a´clock in the afternoon I decided that maybe I had slept enough and walking around may be a good choice. So Nicholle and Jose (her boyfriend) showed me the "witch street". It´s a street with old women who offer things to sacrifice to the Gods. Dried up Baby Lamas, frogs, other small animals, flowers, sweets, etc. A little strange. Other than that there are shops with the most wonderful silver jewellary and gems, traditional cloth that keeps you super warm because it´s made of wool from the :" llama alpaca" and tonnes of guitar shops (which surprisingly weren´t cheaper than anywhere else).
If I tried to sum up my impression of La Paz into one sentence I´d say: "The life here is like a massive Jazz piece that everyone knows the score to apart from me." To anyone who looks at it as an outsider it seems like a gigantic ball of chaos with every person doing what they wish. But when you keep looking
LandscapeLandscapeLandscape

On our trip to Cocacabana
you realise that there´s a basic structure that the people dance around to keep it going.
Essentially La Paz so far in some ways is exactly what I expected it to be and in some ways is nothing like I expected it to be. I expected it to be a little firlthy in places, be as chaotic as it seems and seem completelz out of context with anything I´ve ever experienced and it is. However it is much less hostile than I´d thought and the living standards, although they may be different to ours are not at all bad.
Although I´ve spent mor etime in bed than outside, I´ve had more impressions thrown at me than I thought possible.
Maybe I´ll get another post done here before I leave. If not Auckland will be next.
Keeping you posted


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The CrossingThe Crossing
The Crossing

Crossing to Cocacabana
More LandscapeMore Landscape
More Landscape

Wonderful Plataus everywhere. Made me thinnk of 7 years in Tibet
the Citythe City
the City

Who would build a city like this? In some random place in some random mountain without a natural stream or anything...


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb