Moving on


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
May 5th 2009
Published: May 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

HongmanHongmanHongman

Not looking tough for a change
So after having been here for 4 days I have realised a few things. Most importantly: When you're pretending to be a giant moth by wrapping your sleeping bag around you and using it as wings and the other people in the room are not terribly disturbed by it, chances are they'll be nice.
No really though. Once again I realised that true friends don't need to be around each other in order to maintain their friendship. Although I've been away from all the people here for almost 2 years, nothing has really changed regarding our friendship. Of course everyone lives in a different environment now, some have new and different friends and do things they'd never gotten a chance to before. But the way that a conversation, a hug or maybe even a kiss feels, stays the same. I find that this is a very comforting notion.

But I'm guessing most of you don't really want to hear about that.

I really like Montreal. When walking along St. Laurent looking at the shops, inspecting Artwork, smelling the freshly baked bread from the Portuguese baker and maybe even stopping to sip a freshly brewed coffee in the afternoon sun
Schwartz's Meat SandwichSchwartz's Meat SandwichSchwartz's Meat Sandwich

Best Meat Sandwich I've eaten in my life
one might wonder how he should ever get bored. The privately owned shops everywhere have none of the cold and boring "mall atmosphere". Nothing is really standardized to fit everyone and most things have a character to it. Essentially there is a very liberal cosy atmosphere about the place and everybody here identifies with it.
Of course there's more facets to Montreal than just that, but non the less you can't help but feel a certain intimacy between the people and the city.

My time here is mainly spent catching up with friends, sleeping, eating and drinking. Hongman is the greatest host I could think of and is taking good care of me, showing me secret Korean Hideouts and refusing to let me pay for anything. The dust in the apartment is getting less (probably because it's all in our lungs) and tomorrow I'll be heading out to Bolivia. Today will probably consist of walking around St. Laurent, getting a few drinks in the evening and celebrating my last night out here. Sorry about not having posted any photos yet, but there just hasn't been all that many things I could or should have taken pictures of.

I'll
Ariella with my Rubix CubeAriella with my Rubix CubeAriella with my Rubix Cube

Never gonna see that again... she excluded herself from all social activity for that day
keep you posted





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

AlastairAlastair
Alastair

In a typical Alastair pose


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb