IOU - Internation Orphanage Union


Advertisement
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

James 1:27 "Pure and lasting religion in the sight of God our Father means that we must care for the orphans and widows in their troubles, and refuse to let the world corrup us"

The last three weeks I have been in Cochabamba working with Mike and Bonnie Timmer and their family as they minister to orphaned and abandoned children in Bolivia. It has been an amazing experience getting the chance to see how God is using their family and blessing their work in this much needed ministry.

Three years ago the Timmers began construction on their first orphanage. Partnering with a local church, the vision of the Timmers organization, IOU, is to provide a Christian family environment for the children who are in need of a home. As a result their orphanages are small homes where 8-10 children live as a family with house parents who are supported by their local church family. Within the last three years they have been able to complete the first home, fill it with children, begin construction on the second (that is currently one month away from being completed) and are looking forward breaking ground on the third and forth homes in
Frankie Frankie Frankie

One of he orphans at the first home, the sweetest boy who is always willing to help out around the house.
September. The other ministry that the Timmers are involved in is providing baby washing in areas where there is no running water or where there are many homeless women with children. Each week they go to a specific area and take warm water for baths, food and a new set of clothes for each child bathed. In this very pratical way they are able to minister and build relationships with those in need.

While each day differs for me, my schedule over the last few weeks has looked something like this :

Each morning I have been taking a private Spanish class, it has been great and I feel like my Spanish has improved drastically improved even though I still have a long way to go. On Monday and Friday after class I am picked up by Mike Timmer and driven out to the construction site for the new orphanage and the day is spent doing whatever tasks the other guys don't want to preform. For the last two weeks I have sanded, stained and sealed all of the window and doorframes in the house - I love it! Just in the time I have been here they
The construction siteThe construction siteThe construction site

I'm painting windows on the second floor
have laid the concrete floors, laid the tile, plastered the walls and all the windows and doors look amazing!!; it's really been fun to see the place come together like it is. On Tuesday and Wednesday after class I get the chance to go over to the first orphanage and spend time playing with the kids there; taking them to the park, playing games, trying to help them with their homework (the ones who are of school age have never been to school and they are working with them trying to get them ready to go this coming year) and just in general giving the house parents a break for a few hours. On Thursday and Saturday afternoons I have had the day off and have had the chance to explore the city, see a movie or just rest. At 4 we head over to the area where they provide the baths where we usually spend 2-3 hours bathing anywhere from 40-70 children.

I have really loved my time here and am daily reminded of the great need in the world for people to hear and experience the love of Christ in their lives. My heart has been blessed and broken for these people and children who have so little and who need so much to know that God loves them. I am so thankful for the Timmers and their ministry and am grateful that I have been able to be a part of it for a short while. Please pray for them as they continue to minister here in Bolivia, for wisdom as they build and fill their homes and for financial support for the orphanages.

Advertisement



26th August 2006

For your grandmother
I'll happily take this to your grandmother, Molly. She still doesn't know what to say - to this little bit of a girl off on her own! Your love for the Lord and His needy ones gives me tears as I write.... and I'm happy to be able to be on your praying team!
27th August 2006

wow!! it is truely amazing what happens when God opens our eyes to the true needs in the world!! Molly!! thank you for sharing what has been happening in your world!! I continue to pray for you!! love, Brig
28th August 2006

Molly, what an amazing experience! Thank you for sharing your journey with us and for the reminder to pray for these people and other people around the world. Love you so much. I will continue to pray for you. love, Dani
28th August 2006

Genesis 12:1
That is so awesome Molly! What an amazing experience! I am so glad to hear of all your adventures - thanks for sharing! Love and miss you - Jen
3rd September 2006

Molly- Wow-it is great to hear all of the wonderful happenings that the Timmers and you have been involved in. I just had a great visual of you washing all of those needy children each week. I am praying for you as you continue to minister to those in need. Love, Lis

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb