Think this is the start of my sickness..


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

3rd story camera shot3rd story camera shot3rd story camera shot

Fire in the DISTANCE..
Stayed up quite late writing my blog/note collection last night and awoke at 6am wondering why my alarm hadnt gone off. Oh thats right I set it for 7am...ah what am I doing up so early. Passed out again for another hour which actually seemed like I slept for another 3 hours. When I awoke to the sound of my alarm I was all disoriented and had no more time to sleep in because orientation was at 8am and I didnt want to be late. I have nearly completely given up on trying to take a morning shower for has required too much distress and has made my life simpler by not doing so. walking downstairs noticed no one was around. Is this the twighlight zone??? I thought but then decided to look around the kitchen for something to eat for didnt have much time. Still felt like my eyes were burning and couldnt see all too well probably due to the fact that I had less than 6 hours of sleep. whats there to eat around here I wondering considering Mirza was no where to be found. Searching around I found some sweet bread on the top of the refrigerator and started munching away. At around 15min past 7 Mirza came down and told me to knock on her door if she wasnt awake by the time I got up. Thats a little rediculous and have decided against this for I hate it when people forceably wake me up. Well Mirza prepared me some tea and some bread with ham and some more sweat rolls. After my fill I was running about 5 min behind schedule. Today was our lecture about safety and health in cochabamba so I really couldnt afford to miss it. Walking my normal route to school (abouta 25min walk) took me actually 30 min so when I got the institution everyone was upstairs inside the classroom. I saw Brooke (aka Benita) sitting next to John and an empty seat next to John and sat beside him. Everyone could Tell I had walked a vast distance for was pretty winded and actually had to leave before class started to get some water. Class was very informative and I learned all that was neccessary to survive in this place. ORientation dragged on and on and even after a coffee break was still struggling to stay awake. The first half was all about our safety and how to travel via taxis, trufis, and buses. Pretty much could have been summed up in like 10 min or so expecially the dangers of the city which pretty much goes with where ever you go. (pretty much dont carry anything your willing to loose, Dont go out at night, and Dont walk around with 100 bills in your hand easy as that). After our coffee break we were shown all the orphanages we could volunteer at and the thought occurred that maybe the point of life is just to help people. Later actually found a moment that I actually decided for fact that whatever I did in life sole intention was to help someone out and maybe save some people. Orphanages werent my complete idea and wasnt sole purpose I was planning on devoting my volunteer time to do But looked like I was given no other choice. At our 2 hour break from 12-2 Brooke John and I were planning on heading back to Donals where I had spaghetti but at last minute Brooke bailed on us. John and I still decided to head downtown because what else were we going to do for 2 hours. Brooke lent us a map and told us to take the 115 bus which would take us all the to Heroine AVE which was our final destination about 20min bus ride. Having no idea what taxi to take or which one might just kidnap us and rob us of all our belongings we first went to Johns house up the street (10min walk) to grab some money considering I had 2 bucks and John had a buck. He had his own key unlocked the gate and we were greated by his mom MARTA. After grabbing about 10bucks john decided to change clothes and caused minor delay but was not a problem really. Also note that After class ended for 2 hour lunch break I darted downstairs and turning in my green immigration card for needed it copied with my passport. (isntitution actually is currently holding on to my passport and immigration green card thing which allows me to leave the country). --Catching the 1st taxi we could that we assumed was not a scam using training they gave us we were on our way to DONALs for 10bolivianos. Sitting in mad traffic I was actually concerned that we werent going to make it back to the institution in time considering last time it took a great amount of time. WEll we arrived at the restaurant and John honey was suprised and was really disapointed that he was sick previously and missed out on such an experience. Having intense conversations about well shall not go into detail pretty much everything I found more meaning to my life. Hard to explain but John is unlike anyone Ive ever met and is so mentally apt to dealing with extreme circumstances and lives a life unlike many others. Fool has visited 28 different countries in his lifetime of 22years and has read over 50+ bucks in the past year.
alot differnt from people Im used to hanging around with. So much wisdom and advicde and books he reccomended me really nice. We even talked about what if we took a poor bolivian beggar and placed him in modern day america...hed blow his brains out..hahaha we laughed and actually there was a book he recommended me of a similar circumstance. If those reading and dont understand this entry at all GO AND BUY THE BOOK "Brave NEW WORLD" written in the 30's I believe cant remember author. Classic read John tells me. WEll everything went well and after our spaghetti and meatballs and cocacola we decided to make our way back to the institution because we were pressed for time. We traveled via taxi because it was the quickest way of travel and second taxi both of us ever took by ourselves. Not really Understanding what the driver was saying we got off by the church near the institute. WE walked up a block and noticed the bike trail that paralleled our main street (learned to understand main street was called Circumvalacion bejing). The bike trail was a major hazard we were told and we decided to avoid is entirely and increased our walking speed. We actually had made perfect time with our 2 hours and had arrived back at the institution and sat next to brooke. Aw the next 2 hours were for future missionary people (future priests in progress). After eating all that we ate and listening to some boring missionary programs I thought for sure I was going to sleep. I fought the urge and actually came across an interesting story about the CHICKEN and the EAGLE and interesting Indian myth look up if interested. After that rough hour or so of Missionary volunteer work or preparation John and I made our way to my house walking. When arriving at my house it was as if no one was home but Mirza came from downstairs
shortly hearing the door close. John and I were drinking coca cola and were planning on going to buying some beer perhaps but no decisions were final yet. I conversed and explained that I still needed a USB drive for my computer so I could travel with my blogs and post them from the school computer. With that idea in mind we decided to plan a short mini trip back to down town Heroina Ave. for search for a computer shop so I could buy a USB drive. We tried calling Rogelio (man that lived at Johns house who was familiar with downtown and might know where to find one). NO response and daniellea was busy on the fone so me and John decided to go on a SOlo Mission. After much confusion with which Mirza we were off to catch the 115 trufi which would take us to Heroina and some Aya? street where our final destination was. After much travel racing against the darkness hoping to be back before nightfall we veered off the main street and plunged deeper into the city. We were on some street ecuador trying to find our way back to the main street to take a taxi when the grafitti started becomming worse. WE ended up by some small statue of a pope which lookked vaguely familiar. "Hey man i think this is
Text book exactly where we are not supposed to go!" I told john and he replied that It was sketchy and did look like something they told us not go investigate. "YO man lets get out of here!!!"we both agreed and nightfall was probably like 20 min away and things were going to take a nasty turn if we didnt leave. WE were still lost but thanks to Johns Rape wistle/compass/thermometer we were close to civilization. (note That I did search around before we got lost for some USB ports but all seemed very expensive and I actually ended up not purchasing anything. Failed mission cost us like 2 bucks each o well. Waiting on the main street trying to find bus 16 never showed up. Waiting for like 15min darkfall set in and the street lights went on 'thats not good man! lets take a taxi" Took us like another like 10min to find a legit taxi to take us back to cala cala our new hometown. 7 Bolivianos each got us home safely. Getting home I found Mirza and Daniellea preparing TACOS!!!!! I had like 3 huge tacos with Meat, cheese, tomatoe shavings, and some excellent spice that Mirza prepares for us that I have become extrememly fond of. The spice still sits on ur lip for like at least 20min after you eat great feeling. (Side note apparently we werent in as much danger as we thought on the ecuador street near the pope statue both our parents confirmed this with us after we got home and explained our stories). Once again sorry for the sloppness of this entry really tired and Been messing around with different music trying to find something to
satisfy my ears. oh and ipod took a shit on me right now hopefully If I Sync it again it will be fine.



Advertisement



17th July 2010

Hang on to that whistle!
Better make sure you keep Johns Rape wistle/compass/thermometer with you at all times. I laughed so hard. Sounds like you're having a great time! Have Fun! David Gonzalez

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb