News


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So here are the new of this week:

1. The post office workers have been striking because they haven´t gotten a pay raise in years, which sucks for me because I urgently have to send out some stuff for university.

2. I got lice, believe it or not! Must have picked it up in the other hostel. I´ve no idea if I've ever had lice before but now I´ve got them :-(. Luckily pharmacies are pretty well stocked here, including lice killing shampoos, so I'll hopefully be rid of them in a matter of days.

3. I saw a VERY worthwhile movie last night that summs up much of Bolivian culture/life circumstances. It´s called ¨The Devil´s Miner¨, is a German production and wan many awards on film festivals. It´s about a 14-year old mine worker in Potosi, the tough working and living conditions there, as well as some other aspects of the lives of Bolivias poor. Check it out, I highly recommend it:

http://www.thedevilsminer.com/index_new.html

I was especially touched because Potosi is only a few hours from Sucre and many tourists visit the city and the mines on their way to or from Uyuni. The mines have developed into a tourist attraction the last few years and I'm still debating with myself if I wanna see it or not. On one hand I think it would feel weird observing the horrible working conditions as a tourist, on the other hand I know that the tours directly benefit the mine workers´and are therefore a good thing, I guess...........

That´s about it, school is going well and my Spanish is definitely improving, I´m reading my second book in Spanish already and am planning on keeping it up for the rest of my time in SA.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb