Sucre update


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
March 31st 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´ve been in Sucre for a week now. Spent the first few days exploring the city and attended one to one Spanish class from Wednesday through Friday. Amazing how exhausting 4 hours of school can be! Tomorrow I´ll start group classes which I plan to do for two weeks.

I´ve been getting sick here twice already so I decided to stay away from the market food for a while. Which is a pitty, I´ll miss my morning routine of eating a fresh fruit salad at the local market and reading (well trying to anyway) the newspaper.

Also, and I´m quite excited about that, I found a new weekend volunteer job. I joined a group of volunteers today and we took 12 children with varying degrees of disabilities to the park for the afternoon. It was great fun and quite relaxing compared to the work I did in Villa Tunari. Mainly because we were only able to take as many children as there were volunteers, since many of them are in wheelchairs and the others need special attention as well. I´ll definitely do it again next weekend. I´ve also been thinking of volunteering at an orphanage in the afternoons during the week (school is only in the mornings) but have heard that they´re not exactly short on help since Sucre is very popular among travelers. We´ll see....

Additionally, I moved out of my hostel, where I was sharing my bed with bugs, and found a nice new Casa de Hespues with a nice big, firm bed and kitchen access :-).




Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1000.8kb