The entire city of Sucre marches


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
December 14th 2007
Published: December 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

march in sucremarch in sucremarch in sucre

march outside my house
Sucre organized a grand march. Thousands of people from Sucre marched down four main streets to meet at the plaza de mayo. My street was one of the streets where the march started so i went with one of the aunts and her children. Everyone was wearing Sucre for capital shirts.. waving sucre flags.. and setting off loud fire crackers. Once we got to the plaza, there was music.. everyone singing songs.. and organized chants. for some reason, i kept getting choked up and felt like crying. I really have never met people who was so proud and cared so much about their country and wanting to be capital. I took tons of pictures so once i put them on a disk.. ill post some up.

i contacted the US embassy in La Paz to make sure that it is safe to travel to La Paz and to Cocacobana tonight. Joeri and I are going to Lake Titikaka. I figure if I have to evacuate, I can leave to Peru from Cococabana or take the bus back to la paz and buy a ticket to somewhere else in south america. however, the embassy really believes that the choas will soley
crowdcrowdcrowd

crowd outside the government building
be in santa cruz and chochabamba. however, im going to be watching the news every day this weekend because this weekend will tell the future of bolivia. war or no war.

side note-my family here told me to take antibiotics but as i talked to nurses back home and did my own research.. im definately not taking antibiotics. and i bought some aloe for my sunblisters. phew!


well, ive gots to go finish packing. Im packing everything that i absolutly need ever incase i dont return to sucre for awhile. hopefully i will be because i truly love it here... so keep ur fingers crossed!

adios!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb