lil better


Advertisement
Bolivia's flag
South America » Bolivia » Chuquisaca Department » Sucre
November 27th 2007
Published: November 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

the Courtyard in the my housethe Courtyard in the my housethe Courtyard in the my house

this is where i live
Today was much better! I started my 4 hour spanish lesson class. My teacher is extremely nice and I did pretty good! Its been forever since I took Spanish classes. After class, one of the professors took me to a ATM that actually works. Most of the ATMS are closed because there are no police here so it would be easy to be robbed. But i finally got money out and he also showed me where I could buy a SIM card for my cell phone. I called Dad from it, I´m so relieved that it works. However, I need to buy more minutes for it. After that, I went to Joyride Cafe. Lonely planet recommended it.. its a place where all the gringos hang out. a gringo is a person who is traveling south america. Geez.. i sure love lonely planet because I made friends within 2 minutes!!! literally! A guy named Alex from England, Murrey from New Zealand, and a girl from Oxford England.. i cant pronounce her name. haha. everyone here just calls each other by the country they are from anyways. They are off to Potosi for a few weeks but the guys are coming back to
my bedroommy bedroommy bedroom

this is my little room
Sucre. Later, I went to the Market to buy las frutas! The market is similiar to the markets that were in Mexico City. Tons of fruit, meat, bread, clothes, and random products. I bought some mango, melons, peaches, and apricots. everything is so cheap here! I live off of 7-10 bucks a day but i could be living off of like 5 US bucks! The family im living with feeds me breakfast and lunch. They finish every last crum on their plate. I need to start doing that from now on. If i leave anything on the plate, they think that im not hungry or i dont like it. the thing is .. they eat a typical size dinner during lunch! so at 100 in the afternoon im eating this HUGE meal.. ive got to get used to it. The mom is named nancy and her son is named Victor. Nancy´s hair almost reaches her feet. I think one day she will trip over it. haha. later that night I went back to Joyride and met 5 mor epeople! they were friends with Alex and Murry... They are in Sucre because they are playing professional basketball. They are from Belize
my schoolmy schoolmy school

this is the building where my spanish lessons are at
and Jamaicaaa!!! they almost 7ft tall! haha. I met this other girl nicole who told me to registar at the US embassy and to let them know where i am ever incase we need to evacuate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

the cutest kitten in the worldthe cutest kitten in the world
the cutest kitten in the world

this little kitten seriously hangs out with me all throughout class... i couldnt ask for anything more while learning spanish!! how cute is heee!!!


29th November 2007

I hope your having fun even though all that crazy stuff is going on. That cafe you were taking about sounds like fun i wish i was there too. Stay safe keep us posted on whats going on, love from all of us at home.
29th November 2007

keep sticking at it!
Hi - was just flicking through some travel blogs whilst at work and came across yours. Get to know Bolivia and you will love it - we spent 3 months there last year travelling around and loved every moment. The politics are rubbish but otherwise people will help and look after you. Anyway just thought I would write to encourage you. All the Best.
29th November 2007

Really? You neva told me all this
now that I found this blogg I know whats really going on!!! Don't worry I won't show mom...but just keep telling the truth...now I will really have to dye my hair blonde...love u...Dad
30th November 2007

Your awesome
I love traveling to places that are out of my comfort zone. Good for you Shannon-love the stories, stay safe and the second you let your gaurd down with the food, I promise you-stomache infection-listen to your instincts. Love you!
30th November 2007

Lady lady lady...
You are truly something else.. Stay safe down there. As you've already witnessed first hand - they aren't always safe. :( *hugs*
30th November 2007

holy shit!
this blog rules! If you end up in a riot, take pictures, so i can say" i know that girl!"

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb