Returned from Ushuaia


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Tierra del Fuego » Ushuaia
December 15th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Downtown UshuaiaDowntown UshuaiaDowntown Ushuaia

View from just outside the entrance to the pier.
Hello Everyone. I just returned from a lovely week in Ushuaia, Argentina. To begin, I have to admit that I was very impressed with the city. It was completely different than the image I had in my mind (16-hours of flying gave me plenty of time to think). Granted, I was there during the peak summer season and was very lucky with weather but the place is absolutely beautiful.
Ushuaia is a picturesque city of 65,000 that sits on the shores of the Beagle Channel surrounded by snow capped mountains and beautiful green valleys. I did the "regular" tours; Tierra del Fuego National Park, Beagle Channel, Harberton Ranch, and The Train to the End of the World. But I also used my free time to visit many musuems (and I am not a museum guy) and do some hiking on my own. It is a dream for those who like the outdoors and it offers every level of accommodations. Hiking trails are endless as are outdoor activities. I hiked to the Martial Glacier one day and did some great trail running on another day.
"Downtown" in basically contained on two streets; San Martin and Maipu, and you can find anything and
View of the CityView of the CityView of the City

This was taken on the road that led to our hotel.
everthing there. Fresh seafood is abundant but there is no shortage of the traditional Argentine barbecue and pasta. The barbecue speciality seemed to be Patagonian Lamb but I ate some great beef as well. During the summer months, the days are long. The sun came up around 4:00am and we had good daylight until 10:00pm or so. If you have some flexibility, you can also get killer deals on Antarctic cruises. 90% of all Antarctic cruises leave from Ushuaia and there are always last minute cancellations. You can find last minute departures for up 50% off the rack rates. If you want or need any more information or have any questions, please let me know.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Tierra del Fuego National ParkTierra del Fuego National Park
Tierra del Fuego National Park

Taken from The Train to the End of the World.
Famous LighthouseFamous Lighthouse
Famous Lighthouse

Taken from the catamaran ride on the Beagle Channel
Penguins!Penguins!
Penguins!

We took the long Beagle Channel Cruise which gives you the change to see penguins and visit the Harberton Ranch.
Patagonian TreesPatagonian Trees
Patagonian Trees

They grow this way because of the wind. Very cool.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb