Back from Northern Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lambayeque » Chiclayo
November 26th 2008
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello Again,
It seems that I am about a month late on all of these entries. Between work and travel I haven't had time to get this post up. I was in Peru again in October and had the chance to get up to the North for the first time. I went to Chiclayo, Trujillo, and then I dd the standard Cuzco and Machu Picchu visit.
Chiclayo felt like it was about 5-years behind in regards to general touristic infrastructure but the locals are so nice. I stayed at the Gran Hotel Chiclayo and it was fine. Clean and comfortable with no frills. I heard Casa Andina is building up there which will be a very nice addition to the area but it will probably be a while before it is completed. We went to the Healer's Market, which was very cool. And the Lord of Sipan Museum is a jewel. It has some amazing artifacts and it is very nice. The most overrated visit for me was Tucume. The sheer size is impressive but it has suffered so much erosion that it was hard for me to get a real feel for it.
From Chiclayo, I went by car to
Chan ChanChan ChanChan Chan

Close up of the carving on one of the walls. Chan Chan is all adobe.
Trujillo (about 4-hours). I spent some time in the city, which many say rivals Cuzco in regards to colonial architecture. I wish I would have spent more time in the city. It is very easy to walk around and everyone was so friendly. It is just a fun place to hang out. From there we went to the Temple of the Sun and the Temple of the Moon. Much more interesting than Tucume. The sheer size is impressive but they detail that they have uncovered there is truly impressive. Lunch n Huanchacho was a highlight. Huanchaco is a cool little beach town that is popular with surfers and students. Good nightlife and great inexpensive food. The hightlight or me by far was Chan Chan, the ancient capital of the Chimu Empire. This place is truly amazing and the size is hard to comprehend. I only saw two of the complexes and I believe there were seven in total. I will attach some pictures so you can see what I am talking about.
Cuzco and Machu Picchu were great (as always). In order to really enjoy the north I think you really need to be interested in the history and the
TrujilloTrujilloTrujillo

One of the many beautiful streets in Trujillo leading to the main square.
subject matter. Some of the people I traveled with were pretty discouraged and were expecting much more. For me, it was very interesting but I think I had a better idea of what to expect. People don't realize that there were many civilizations in Peru that existed prior to the Incas. If you are interested in this history, the north has endless amounts of information.
I stayed in some new hotels while I was on this trip. The new Casa Andina Private Collection in Lima is amazing. And the Eco-Inn in Cuzco was also very nice. If you want more details feel free to contact me. Safe travels....


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Huaca del SolHuaca del Sol
Huaca del Sol

This is the Temple of the Sun. The photos don't capture the size of this place.
Peru's Jamba JuicePeru's Jamba Juice
Peru's Jamba Juice

This was at the Witches Market in Chiclayo. You just pick a glass and they blend it all up for you...instand smoothie.
Purple CornPurple Corn
Purple Corn

Very common in Peru. It can be found at any market.
Temple of the SunTemple of the Sun
Temple of the Sun

Close up of the detail.
Chan ChanChan Chan
Chan Chan

Detail of a wall


Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb