Good -Bye city!


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
December 7th 2007
Published: December 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My room 1My room 1My room 1

The bed I slept in the past few months!
So here it is... my LAST night in Bs As. I've spent the past week hangin out with Katie and her mom and slowly saying good bye to all the AMAZING people I met here. (No worries, I'll see you guys sooon!) I won't lie, I straight-up cried when Danielle left and the good byes to Kasina and Jillian were teary eyed as well. I said sorta good byes to my host family (I'll see em tonight). It was weird visiting my apartment today and not living there....

So I've been a tourist in the city the past few days with Katie's mom. We re-lived all the things we did the first week we were in the city. I got nasty sick from the HUGE amounts cheese on the pizza we had for lunch one day. So no more of that for me! I even stayed in a hostel with Kasina for a few nights when Katie and her mom were in Iguazu. Lemme tell ya it was weird. I cant believe people pay so much for the "pup crawls" and crap. The Christmas decorations are up all over the city and its beautiful! (goes ell with all the summer
My desk!My desk!My desk!

My desk and books and our kitchen across the courtyard.
flowers blooming and the 90 degree heat). Anyway, I'll use the pictures to tell the stories from the past few days so check em out!

These 4 months spent in this HUGE city have been fun, hard, complicated, sad, and amazing. I made it through spanish class 5 days a week and living in a country where I dont speak the language. I made new friends and missed my friends at home like a crazy woman (I'm sure everyone here is SICK of hearing about how I have the best friends ever!). I made it without Zach... needless to say a CAN'T wait to see him next week! I learned that my mom and dad are the two BEST people in my life. I wouldn't have made it here without them and I can't believe for the first time in my life I won't be home for Christmas with them (and my girls!). Well, I'll deal with all that heartache when Christmas rolls around. So I lived, and have a 3 month vacation in Peru, Bolivia, and Ecuador ahead of me... and that starts tomorrow in Mendoza! Then one more semester (in Chile) and I'm a SENIOR in college...
Jillian and Katie!Jillian and Katie!Jillian and Katie!

The last night we were all out together!
weird. Check out the pics...


PEACE OUT Bs As!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Me!Me!
Me!

Me!
Me and Tomas!Me and Tomas!
Me and Tomas!

Tomas, my wonderful host brother, came out with us every once and while including our last night!
Susanne and JillianSusanne and Jillian
Susanne and Jillian

One from the mid-west and one from the east-coast* *the only east coaster I liked
Colorful boothColorful booth
Colorful booth

Kasina spent our first day "off" as follows: wake up, eat breakfast, go to the market for 2 hours, eat lunch, sleep, wake up, go eat dinner, sleep. Oh its a hard life...
Old amongst the newOld amongst the new
Old amongst the new

An old church tower near the San Telmo fair.
My heaven...My heaven...
My heaven...

This would have been my favorite booth when I was 9. It was my favorite 2 days ago too!
Some stylist street performersSome stylist street performers
Some stylist street performers

These guys held still for like 10 min straight! And they have all those clothes on in the 98 degree heat!
Free Hugs!!Free Hugs!!
Free Hugs!!

Kasina said the woman gave a great hug...
Fresh OJFresh OJ
Fresh OJ

They sell it EVERYWHERE and its soooooo good
Sweet Tango GroupSweet Tango Group
Sweet Tango Group

Really good tango group. Check out all their tatoos!
The whole marketThe whole market
The whole market

A view of the entire market! (or the main street)
Cat ladyCat lady
Cat lady

Kasina gets a call from Jenny: "hey my mom and I are going to the botanical gardens" Kasina: "cool Carrie and I will meet ya there" hangs up the phone. Kasina: "YAY! We can feed the babies" We then went to the grocery store and spent 10 pesos on a Kg of cat chow then went to the park while she fed EVERY cat. Crazy cat lady...
GardensGardens
Gardens

Pretty fountain
Tops of the cemeteryTops of the cemetery
Tops of the cemetery

So cemeteries aren't usually on the to-do list buuut this one is really cool. The wealthiest people of Bs As are buried here (you can be too for $30,000). Its really a crazy sight. The 2nd largest in the world for # of mosques. I took this from the chapel window next-door.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb